Today's music?

34 Satellite - "Stop" (2001 - Hideaway Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004 - 8:28 p.m.

Crushed�that�s the word for the way I have been feeling�.plus- remind me again- what month is this? Because it don�t feel like it�

Yes, crushed.

I just couldn�t bring myself to write since Sunday. That was after hearing of the death of one of our country�s finest entertainers and a true genius, at the untimely young age of 35:

Of course, O.D.B. (aka Ol� Dirty Bastard) will always be remembered for his heart, full of love for his fellow man. With songs titled, �Give It To Ya� Raw�, �Dirty and Stinkin��, and �I Wanna Fuck�, he will leave a legacy that future musicians will find hard to live up to�

But seriously, folks�

The high temperature today was 72�. If you check the dateline at the top of this entry, you will see that today is November 17th.

Global warming rocks!

In this case, anyway.

Since the winds were also blowing out of the southwest at a decent speed (5-10 mph), I figured it was time to burn a couple of hours of p.b. Maybe the White Bass would be back in the shallows, feasting on gizzard shad one more time.

My Dad called me at work this morning, asking me a question about Thanksgiving plans. I mentioned to him that I was taking off early to search for fish. Did he want to go with me?

He told me he had a bunch of things he and my step mom needed to get done, but thanks for the offer.

About an hour before I was to leave work, he called up again.

�Sure is nice outside today�, was the first words out of his mouth. I knew that meant he wanted to go, too.

I picked him up at his apartment at 1:30, and after a quick pit stop at home (had to gather tackle and let the boys outside, since I wouldn�t be returning home until after dark), we were headed to Wilbur Creek access area.

Bringing my Dad along necessitated a change in my plans for attacking the Whites. I decided to leave my waders at home, since my dad doesn�t like to fish while in the lake. I brought my lightest action poles so we could get off longer casts, maybe to reach the schools of fish if they were far from the bank.

Turns out it didn�t matter- the Whites have decided to move out after all of the rain and high water. Can�t say I was surprised. This makes three trips in the last 3 weeks where the Whites were few and far between.

I brought along a carton of nightcrawlers, just in case we needed a Plan B. As in Bluegills.

After about 40 casts futile at the Beach (1 small White, one small Crappie), I talked him into heading to the boat ramps. I managed to pull around 50 small-to-medium sized Crappie and Bluegills out of the water there last Thursday, cold rain and all, so I thought we might have a little luck there today.

Oh yeah, I forgot one thing- my Dad is not as fanatical about fishing as I am. He got me started on this life-long hobby when I was just a wee lad, but he will be the first to tell you that he just likes to go along with me now for the conversation. If he doesn�t catch anything he doesn�t mind at all.

Unlike me, who always thinks there might be one more technique I could have tried to scratch up a few fish.

That said�

My Dad did all right in the hour or so we fished at the ramps. He pulled in 4 Crappie, along with 5 or 6 nice Bluegills. I might have landed another 50 Crappie (I was casting and retrieving, he was using a bobber because he says he can�t tell when the Crappie bite without one).

Not one of the Crappie was legal. The longest might have been 9 �� long, �� too short.

Typical for this spot.

But we weren�t there for our supper. I brought along a 5-gallon bucket, but wouldn�t have used it unless we landed a nice mess of White Bass.

No, the reason for being there today wasn�t my usual one. Just listening to my Dad tell me stories about his childhood, fishing with his older brothers (they always caught more fish than him), and about the time he spent in Alaska in the Air Force back in the early 1950�s (including several things he had never told me before in my 43 years on this planet) were far more rewarding than a Ziploc� bag of fish filets any day�


I think I finally finished the photographs from Tara and Shawn�s wedding.

Yes, that was almost 3 weeks ago.

Well�it took this long to finalize what I would be having made for them at the photo lab (237- 4�x6� prints, along with 5 enlargements and another 50 shots for Shawn�s mother).

All I can say is I am glad I had a coupon for the 4�x6� shots. Ended up saving my over $30.

I never posted many of the photographs here. I put a new album up on Photgra of just this wedding, but I keep forgetting to ask if they mind if I post the link here.

So I haven�t.

Maybe if Shawn reads this, he will let me know if they mind.

Until then, I thought I would show you one more photo from the wedding anyway. I have had several people tell me this is one of their favorite shots of the batch.

And I didn�t even take it. Lease did:

Of course, nobody said they liked the photograph due to the big hairy guy on the right. They all mentioned Riley�s eyes, peeping over my shoulder , while we �danced�.

Got to admit- I like that too�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top