Today's music?

John McLean - "Easy Go" (2001 - Preminition Records)...nice mellow jazz guitarist...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005 - 9:20 p.m.

Another long (winter weather) day�

The day started out with cold rain. Lots of it.

We received another inch or so. Add to what had already received the last 10 or so days, and we are experiencing the most severe winter flooding I can remember in my lifetime.

Small creeks that routinely dry up during the summer months are now more like rivers, lapping at the base of the small bridges on my route. One of them is over 100 feet wide before it narrows to force itself under the bridge deck.

There are 4 areas on my route that are marked with �water on road� signs right now. All reach out from the farm fields, over the ditch line, and up to the edge of the white line on the driving lane shoulders.

It�s crazy, I�m tellin� you.

The rain switched over to sleet before becoming all snow in the early afternoon. Before it ended, I had 2� of very wet slop on my lanes, needing the application of salt and my snowplow.

All in all, it was a pretty uneventful day. I only had one vehicle end up in the ditches .I saw this Mustang go off, too. Driving too fast for conditions, trying to pass a slower car using the passing lane that was still filled with wet slush. It almost looked like he did it on purpose, the way he headed right for the standing water. Luckily for him, he didn�t go off in any of the deep standing water spots- he would have had to swim to the shoulder.


It is already down to 19�. Low is supposed to be in the single digits.

I�m glad I am on days this week�


I need to go to bed. Tired, don�t �cha know?

More so than usual, due to a 2 am phone call I received this morning.

Remind me to tell you why that happened in a couple of days, if I forget to write about it by then.

I�ll leave you with this photograph from Tuesday Chicago Tribune, incase your local newspaper didn�t run it. It was taken of a large boulder, dislodged in that terrible mudslide in La Conchita, California.

Not Photoshopped- that is where the boulder really ended up resting after the slide. Bet that was a pain to remove.

I don�t know about you, but the first thing I thought of when I saw this photograph was, �I wonder if Wyle E. Coyote is lying flattened underneath that thing?�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top