Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Sept. 28, 2005 - 8:56 p.m.

�That boy ain�t smart enough to get��

O.K.- I am not young enough to be called a boy, but�

I took 2 hours of p.b. today to try to catch White Bass at Wilbur Creek. The barometric pressure was rapidly falling, as was the forecasted temperature. The high today was 78�

Tomorrow we will be lucky to reach the low 60's�.

So�everything was pointing to great fishing.

Sure, rain was in the forecast. I can take a little rain, if the fish are cooperating.

So I left work at 1:30, did a few chores around the house, and headed to the beach.

As soon as I got out of my truck, light rain began falling.

Then�

When I reached the beach, I noticed that one of the local retiree/fishermen (who I have talked to many times) was already working the stretch where I was planning on throwing my spinners.

No problem- I just moved down the bank, and started a little small talk with him.

What he had to say wasn�t good- he hadn�t caught one White since he started fishing a few hours before. Not only that, but he hadn�t caught many since summer. The water is still quite low there (and the basin is shallow to start with), and I am fearing that the schools of hungry white bass might not be ready to head in just yet.

He was ready to leave, so I had the whole area to myself.

Which meant about nothing.

I threw several different lure combinations at the water over the next 2 � hours, and only managed to land 8 Whites (2 keepers, returned to the water). The fish didn�t even start biting until the rain and the wind had picked up mightily.

By the time Moose pulled into the parking lot (around 5 pm), I was walking back to my hillbilly truck, ready to head home. The rain had steadily picked up in intensity (in ten cities- Ted Nugent reference) and the temperature had started falling. I was reaching the point of too wet to stick around. The rumbles of thunder in the distance were enough to send me home.

Moose didn�t even make it to the water with his fishing rod. I guess he figured if I was giving up, it wasn�t worth him getting rained on too�


Don�t get me wrong- the fishing wasn�t that bad. I also caught something like 25 (smaller) White Crappies, a few Bluegills, a couple small Drum Perch, and I hooked 3 decent Largemouth Bass (landed 2, each around 2 pounds, and lost one when he decided to tail-walk on the surface).

But that was not what I drove there expecting to catch.

Everything was released. It would have been hard to make a �mess� out of what I landed anyway (and you know I don�t eat Largemouth Bass).

It is only late September. From what I can tell (from my past writing here and in my workplace journal), the Whites haven�t really started running until mid-October or so for the past few years.

Still plenty of time to re-stock the freezer with tasty filets�


One more edit from Moose�s daughter�s wedding:

This photo has had the "smart blur" filter (from Photoshop Elements) applied to a basic edit. At the size Fotothing posts these shots, I don't know if you can really see what playing around with this filter did to the image.

I am still learning how to use all of the features of Photoshop- this filter will come in handy with harsh, overly sharp or grainy images down the road (not that this one was- I just like the almost "painting-like" end result here).

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top