Today's music?

The White Stripes - "Icky Thump" (2007).. more genius from Jack and Meg White....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Aug. 12, 2007 - 8:49 p.m.

This is just sad...

My nephew J-Rod called today, asking me for help in posting a photo in Myspace. It took me a little while to get back with him (supper was hot off the grill when he called, so I told him I would help him as soon as we finished eating).

Now I know the rest of the story.

I thought this was my nephew in the photo I helped him with. Instead, I found out it was one of his best friends from his time in the National Guard. He spent the first 6 months of his service (remember that word- service. These young men and women are doing a service for you and this country, even if you don't like the war in Iraq. It's called the "service" for a reason) riding in a Humvee with the young man in this photograph.

He died yesterday, another victim of a roadside bombing (most likely from a bomb manufactured and paid for by the fine leader of Iran) in one of the violent region in Iraq. He re-enlisted for another term after he could have come home.

And now he's gone.

I really want to go off on a rant about the piece of shit leader of our state (he has a bill on his desk that would help the family's of this kind of tragedy by getting emergency money to them in this kind of tragic situation, and he said he is totally for the bill, but he hasn't finalized it by signing it because nobody has pointed a camera at him and told him how great he is for signing it. 700+ bills sent to him since January, and he has only signed 31! Plus, we don't have a budget here in North Dakota, so I have now worked without knowing if I will be paid for 12 days now. Sorry- I said I wouldn't rant, and I did. This is not about me, so I'll stop now...)

If J-Rod can get off of work for the funeral, I will burn some of my vacation time and meet him there. The young man lived in a town about 1 hour from here, so I want to be there for him if possible...

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top