Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



April 08, 2002 - 9:52 p.m.

Yes, I consumed some food today. And, who�s making jam in April?

I didn�t mean to worry anyone with my entry yesterday when I mentioned that I hadn�t eaten much. I sometimes have weekend days like that. I get out of my daily, regimented routine and sometimes skip a meal here and there.

It just so happened that I ate way too much Saturday night (dinner at 8:30 pm, for goodness sake! Did I really just type that? �For goodness sake?� Shoot me now �..We usually eat our dinner here around 5:30, not 8:30), slept the sleep of a wanted man, and didn�t get up feeling like cooking a big breakfast. Lunch came late (2 pm, with the new daylight savings time). By the time we left Wallyworld, I wasn�t in the mood to eat anything. It was already 6 pm, so no supper.

I did eat a piece of pie last night, downing it with a nice glass of cold milk.

Skim, if you are keeping score.

I ate more or less like I usually do today, so I don�t think you have to worry about me losing my middle-aged figure too soon�..


Lease called in sick today. Your shocked as me, I�m sure.

She didn�t feel great all day yesterday, and woke with a splitting headache and a upset tummy.

I offered to stay home with her (my sick time is built up pretty high, and I can use it whenever I need to for sickness-in-family), but she wanted me to go to work in case Codeman�s baseball game wasn�t rained out.

That point was moot by 9 am. The sky opened with biblical fury, dumping copious amounts of rain over the fruited plain.

Well, it rained anyway. I had already put in to leave at 2 for his game, so I just went home instead.

What did I do?

I stopped by Kroger and picked up a few things we didn�t buy at Wallyworld.

And I bought a half-flat of California-grown, peak-of-the-season strawberries.

That works out to about 6 heaping pints of berries. They were so ripe; you could smell the luscious aroma as soon as you stepped inside the store.

That�s unusual with store-bought strawberries, to say the least.

Why did I buy so many berries?

To make a batch of jam, of course.

Why not wait for locally grown, ripe berries in season? Well, we don�t have any U-pick patches anymore, and nobody in the county grows them to sell in the farmer�s markets anymore, either. I am really too busy to make jam in late May-early June with getting my garden settled in, too.

These berries were as good as any I could get � somewhat locally� grown next month, anyway.

I always make a batch or two of strawberry jam every year. If you ask 50 people �What kind of jam would you like from my pantry?�, 45 of them ask for strawberry.

It�s my favorite, too. Well, maybe just behind the peach jam I get from fruit off of my trees. I wait until they are almost fully ripe, and then fight the squirrels to get my share of the harvest.

But strawberry jam is still damn good.


Every time I make jam, I have the possibility of screwing things up. It�s really up to the pectin and fruit to decide how well the final product sets up. Sometimes you end up with a jam so thick you have to cut it with a knife. Sometimes, it is just right.

And sometimes it ends up a thin and runny spread.

Or, as I like to call it, �ice cream topping�.

It all gets eaten, one way or the other��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top