Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Nov. 05, 2002 - 7:45 p.m.

How I spent election day�

I started the day by voting.

Yeah, I know: my vote means nothing, one vote doesn�t change anything, and many of the people I voted for will probably loose anyway.

That�s not the point.

If I didn�t vote, I don�t think I have the right to complain about who wins after the totally fuck us. If the person I voted for wins , and then goes and fills suitcases with taxpayers money, then I can complain about how I was fooled.

But if I didn�t vote, all I am doing is complaining about something that I didn�t take part in the outcome.

I didn�t write this to piss you off if you didn�t vote. That is one nice thing about our country- you can vote if you want to (unless you are a felon, but that�s another story), and you can blow it off if you want to, too.

One thing is for sure: most of the big races won�t be decided when we go to bed tonight. If we learned anything back in 2000, it�s that many people can�t seem to figure out HOW to vote. There have been reports of �voting irregularities� (don�t you love that phrase? Sounds like voter�s constipation or something) reported all over the country today.

The lawyers will be fully involved before we wake tomorrow morning�..


After voting, I went fishing.

The weather? Rain, 10-15 mph winds out of the northeast, and fog.

Not �Storm of the Century� material, but pretty crummy for fishing none the less.

I went back to the spot I caught all the fish a week ago Friday. I brought my kneee boots this time. I figured that if the fish were still schooling up 40 foot from the shore, I would be able to get close enough to reach the bigger bass.

I started the morning fishing with my back to the rain. This helped some, but my raingear didn�t block out all of the moisture. My hands quickly reached the bright red- numb state. I have learned, after years of fighting the elements this time of year, that I just have to get thought the initial discomfort. After a few minutes of that, my hands stop hurting. I just loose sensitivity in my fingertips, that�s all.

That is not a problem, unless I am snagging my line often. Forcing my numb fingers to feed line through the tiny eyes on a hook is a major challenge the longer I am out there in the cold.

Luckily for me, I didn�t have to change the line much.

After a bunch of casts (while standing calf-deep in cold water), I noticed that the fish weren�t hitting far out. The only strikes I had were close to shore.

I started casting sideways, and I then started catching fish. I may be a little slow, but I knew when to get back on the shore. The rest of the morning I worked the sandy shoreline, picking up a fish every few casts. I didn�t keep anything today (good thing-my hands were to stiff to handle a filet knife anyway), but I did land 15 or so nice White bass (between 11-15�), a few large Yellow bass (8-10�) , and one tiny Largemouth bass not much larger than my jig.

Was it worth it, considering the conditions.

Yes.

I have a sticker on the back window of my truck that sums it up for me:

A bad day fishing is better than the best day of work!

And today wasn�t a bad day of fishing. Anytime you fight that many nice fish, the weather becomes inconsequential�.


Since I came home from taking Lease to lunch (the Mexican restaurant we usually avoid, to try out their lunch buffet- it was decent, nothing more..), I have been working on transferring my older photos from D-land to the free storage site I have been using.

It�s called Photogra, and this link takes you to my page .

I am still working on captions, but I did transfer about � of my old photos. Anytime you read an old entry and come across one of those �X� boxes where a photo used to be, all you have to do is click on the link on the left side. The missing photo will be located there (81 as of right now).


One last thing:

One of my favorite diary writers, kstyle, was kind enough to make a new banner for me.

He posted several on D-land this weekend, and had great click-through rates. One was in the 4% range! That�s really high for a banner ad.

My last two ads did squat. Maybe you saw them? They didn�t catch many eyes, because my click through was 1.1% for the first one below, and 1.5% for the snowball one.

Bad, I know. So when I read kstyle�s entry today, with his results, I asked him to work his magic for me.

This is what he was kind enough to make for me:

Much nicer than my first two, and original, too.

I imagine my click rate will be much higher on this one�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top