Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Jan. 19, 2003 - 9:48 p.m.

No time today for a proper entry ��yeah, again��

So, today started out pretty good.

Lease and I slept in. Neither of us woke up before 8 am.

That�s a good start to a Sunday, in my opinion.

I took the dogs out at 8, and then made toast and beverages to start our day. After reading the paper, I got up and threw together scrambled eggs with ham, sausage, onions, and green peppers, served on English muffins. The sausage was already cooked and in the freezer, leftover from another Sunday meal. The whole meal only took me about 30 minutes to throw together.

By noon, Lease was ready to run errands. Since the forecast only mentioned flurries, we thought we were safe. Yes, winds from the southwest at 15-25 mph were still there, but the temperature had risen to over 32�. That should have been enough to �cap� the snow, melting it just enough to keep it from drifting.

We hit the local Aldi (a discount supermarket) to pick up a few food items, and then headed to the local mall. We managed to check out the sale-priced shoes at Kohls, and hit a few sidewalk sale displays. Lease wanted to check out a coat she saw in the window of Wilson�s Leather (cool name for a store, don�t cha think?). We found a rack containing several different sizes of the coat she liked, and about the time she tried one on two weird things happened.

1.A very bizarre looking couple walked up to us, and the man told Lease �Don�t buy that coat here! You can get one just like it at (second-hand resale store name) in town for about half that price. Dear, what did you pay for that fox fur coat you bought?� His �dear� said, �Should have cost $200, but I only paid $75!�

I swear, I was looking for the hidden camera. These two people were either very friendly beyond belief, or were co-owners of the mentioned resale shop.

Or maybe they were swingers, hitting on us. I never seem to figure these things out�

2.Remember I said two weird things happened? I was carrying Codeman�s phone, and it started ringing. I answered it, but the person on the other end couldn�t hear my voice.

The other person was Pumpkinhead, my boss.

I called home, and Codeman told me that he had also called our home phone. Codeman gave me P.�s cell phone number, and I gave him a call.

It seems there were a few isolated spots where the snow was drifting into the road He needed me to come in to work.

FUCK!

Since our NDDOT storage building is only blocks from the mall, that wasn�t a problem. Having to casncel our plans was. Lease dropped me off at the yard, and than drove home.I tried to get her to return to the mall and continue shopping, but she said she wasn't in the mood to anymore.

I hate what winter and my job does to our personal time together....


I worked from 2:15 until 7:30. I didn�t want to, but this time of year I don�t have a choice.

I had 5 spots (that were less than 100 feet long each) on my two routes that needed attention. Salting and plowing took care of them in about 5 hours.

So, to sum it up; another wasted weekend day. No time with the wife, no nice dinner out.

If nobody works on the night shift, I will rotate to days. The forecast for this week sounds a lot like last weeks: a chance of snow almost every day.

Looks like another long week.

I guess I will have to go back to the mall later this week. Maybe they will still have the coat Lease wanted at Wilson�s���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top