Today's music?

nothing..just the hum of my computer's hard drive



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2003 - 5:24 p.m.

A little snow....How many charities wanting my money are there out there ?.... and that�s about it�

The snow finally fell around 11 pm last night. From what the guys on the night shift tell me, it only fell for about 2 hours, but was very wet and heavy.

We ended up with about 2 new inches of snow. Just enough to mess up the morning commute, and to get me out of the toolroom for most of the day.

My truck was still dead when I came to work this morning. Eric the shop monkey spent about an hour, along with Sef (my partner) , trying to get it running but failed. I can�t fault their effort, but trying to prime a dead diesel late at night isn�t worth the hassle. Joe D Mechanic had it running by 8 am, but I was already out on my two routes in an hourly truck.

Let me say right now that having a almost-new truck is a privilege that I don�t take for granted. You are reminded of how good it is any time it breaks down. I had to drive a truck with: 1. bad brakes 2. a broken washer pump, leaving my windshield smeared 95% of the day , and 3. a rebuilt, underpowered transmission.

I found myself waiting too long to hit the brakes, expecting the stopping power of my regular truck, and having to lock them up to stop on time a few times this morning. I should have know there was a problem with the wiper/washer when I saw a squirt bottle filled with window solvent between the seats. That helped some, but could only be used when I was stopped. If you think you get a lot of slop on your windows when the roads are being cleared, you can�t imagine how much gets thrown up on my window by the snowplow.

Hey, I didn�t hit anybody or anything, so it�s all good��


I have come to the conclusion that January is the official month for charities to hit you up for a donation. The latest twist seems to be to include stickers with your return address on them. I guess they figure you will feel guilty if you keep them and don�t send them any money.

I have made the mistake by cutting a small check for a few of these groups.

Why is helping them out a mistake?

Because they must sell your name to every other charity in the United States, that�s why.

I have seen more photos of crippled children and disabled war veterans in the past few weeks than I had in the last 10 years! I now also possess a decade-worth of return stickers to slap on my monthly bills.

No, I didn�t send money to most of these groups. The ones I think are admirable, I send a small check.

The ones from groups like �The Acute Acne Sufferers of the Upper Midwest�?

Thanks for the stickers, but no thanks��.


Lease just phoned, and said she won�t have to work as late tonight. She wants to head out for a meal, so I will finish up this entry now.

Last night, she walked in the door at 9:15. She put in 14 hours, listening to her company and herself be called everything but a nice person. She took a bath, put on her p.j.�s, and went to bed by 10.

She then tossed and turned for the next hour. I can understand why. She was still wound up for dealing with all the whiners all day, and wasn�t able to relax for that period of time.

Tonight?

She should be home in less than an hour.

I imagine we have an early bedtime in our future��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top