Today's music?

Gordaon - "self titled" (1999 - Sony Music)..Like Semisonic? this band is in the same vein......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jul. 17, 2003 - 7:44 p.m.

Busy time of the year(fishing, gardening, and more)..

Skipped another day posting here at D-land yesterday.

I went fishing after work last night, and didn�t get home until late.

Didn�t catch much, either.

I had the bright idea to take the Hillbilly boat out by myself. I figured the boat traffic on a Wednesday would be low, and I wouldn�t have to fight too many other boats.

Wrong. And wrong.

I put the H.B.Boat in at my favorite bank-fishing/ramp on the Big Army corps of Engineer�s lake south of here at 4 p.m. There were only a few trucks with trailers in the parking lot, so I thought I would be virtually by myself.

I didn�t figure in the equation the number of people who have permanent boat docks, I guess. Water skiers and joy boaters flew by my nearly non-stop all evening. This traffic only slows down once the water cools off in the fall. I should have remembered this from past experience, but that was many lost brain cells ago, I guess.

Did I catch anything?

Well, yes and no.

I didn�t find any white bass. The water is just too shallow in the area of the lake I was fishing. I saw plenty of schools of fish swimming by my depth finder�s transducer, but whatever was in these large schools wasn�t interested in my minnows and lures.

I did land about 20 crappies. Not bad for a summer�s evening, but with only 2 large enough to keep (I didn�t), nothing to write home about.

I didn�t mind the lack of major-league action though.

I wanted to experiment with my depth finder, and I did just that. I found out that the deepest area I could find in this basin was less than 15 foot deep. Not deep enough to hold the big white bass this time of year. They prefer deeper areas to lounge in during the hot mid-day hours. They only come in to feed in the shallower areas as the sun is setting. Since there isn�t any deep water nearby, they are not likely to be there in the evening.

It�s funny, though- this is the same area where I catch a bunch of white and yellow bass every fall. They must move into the area when the water cools down. I know they are gorging themselves on gizzard shad when the temperature drops, so they have to be coming in from some other part of the lake.

Next solo fishing trip?

Maybe next week.

I�m thinking the bridge at the old Coal shaft.

40+ feet of water, only 100 years from the ramp.

Might be able to pick up a few white bass there. If not, I have caught a bunch of both crappie and bluegill there in the summer months in years past�..


The brush/burn pile trash was properly cleaned up yesterday by the tree cutting service.

Codeman said they were there by 8 am (they woke him up with their machinery), and were done and gone by 8:30.

See? I told you it wasn�t a big mess. The whole point was the fact that they left it in the first place.

When I came home, there was a message on the answering machine. It was the receptionist from the tree cutting company, hoping that I was happy with what they had done for me.

She also told me that they have made a note on their records, and that they will deduct another 10% off whatever their usual charges would be to remove the Evil Black Walnut tree From Hell!

So yes, I am satisfied.

I never raised my voice with anyone but the geezer who was directing the backing-up truck (you would yell too, if they took out a garden bed like they did to me). I was able to get the mess taken care of without any charge to me (no, I wouldn�t have paid them a penny- I would have just cleaned it up myself and slammed their reputation every chance I got if they wouldn�t have corrected their mistakes).

Just thought I would get you up to date�.


Today was a large harvest day at the work garden.

I brought home:

8 nice Oriental eggplant (gave half to a neighbor).

50 (or so) shallot bulbs. These are now hanging in the garage, drying out for storage.

15 pounds of Texas 1015 onion bulbs (ditto).

A pint of Sungold cherry tomatoes (orange, sweet , small tomatoes).

A nice handful of okra pods (�Burmese� and �Annie� varieties).

Add to that the fact the Mr. Snow (a full-time temp for the last 5 winters) stopped by with 300 ears of bi-colored super sweet corn (I took home a baker�s dozen), and today was the best harvest day for me so far this growing season.

I stir-fried my half of the eggplants for a side dish with tonight�s supper. I prepared them in chicken stock and peanut oil, and then covered with bottled stir-fry sauce. Easy, and very good.

I could have eaten a plate full of this for my entire supper. The eggplant is a variety that I picked up the seeds for at the Korean market in Collegetown last spring. The plants look like they will be very productive, so I will have plenty to eat and to hand out this year.

Last year, I had none. Bunnies ate my plants, and the replacement bedding plants I put in produce very little fruit for me. I even bought a few eggplants at the farmer�s market, just to feed my eggplant Jones.

What a difference a year makes�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top