Today's music?

Modest Mouse - "Good News For People Who Love Bad News" (2004 - Epic Records) Great drunken alternative rock



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Dec. 02, 2004 - 8:58 p.m.

How �bout those Illini?�plus- piss on that, and very creative song lyrics from my favorite album in the last 4 months or so..

My favorite college basketball team really came through last night, didn�t they?

Even though they have been playing really good ball, I had a little trepidation heading into the game with the #1 ranked team in the country, Wake Forest.
The game was tied only once, 2-2. After that, the Illini literally ran the Demon Deacons out of their Nike shoes, building a lead to double digits in less than 5 minutes. The lead was as high as 32 points in the second half before Coach Weber pulled all but one of his starters and emptied the bench. Wake kept most of their starters in the game until less than a minute remained on the clock, allowing them to make the final score a more respectable 91-73.

The Illini still have a tough game against the squad from Arkansas, playing them at Little Rock on Saturday (they beat up on Arkansas last year, so the Razorbacks probably have extra incentive for this game). But if they manage to leave the court with a win on Saturday, Illinois should be ranked #1 when the polls come out on Sunday.

No Illinois basketball team has been ranked that high in my lifetime.

Yes, it�s still early in the season.

But it would still be cool�.


Having trouble getting your toddler son toilet trained?

Here�s an idea- give them something to aim at while they wiz.

I don�t know if using imitation fish and ducks as targets will raise the ire of the wackos at P.E.T.-A.

I can only hope so�


The album I mentioned in the title?

�Good News for People Who Love Bad News�, by Modest Mouse.(click here if you want to listen to samples from it at Amazon)

I bought a copy of this cd because I became hooked on the first single, �Float On�, which was in heavy rotation all summer.

This album is hard to describe in just a few words. The music is not heavy, but many of the lyrics are. It�s been a long time since I heard a baritone saxophone and a muted trumpet used in a rock song (�Interlude Mito�). Many of the vocals appear to have been recorded while the lead singer was totally plastered (from what I read about these guys in Spin magazine, he probably was).

But the more I listen to this cd, the more it grows on me. I just pulled the liner notes out of the cd case, and they published their lyrics inside the foldout booklet. That�s becoming increasingly rare nowadays, which is a shame. Sometimes that is the only way you can decipher what a mumbling vocalist is singing, right?

Anyway�

This is one verse from the song �Black Cadilacs� that became clear to me today, and I wanted to share it with you ( So they won�t sue me- � 2004 Ugly Casanova (ASCAP)/ Isaac Brock):

We named our children after towns we�ve never been too/
And it�s true that the clouds just hung around like black Cadilacs outside a funeral/
And we were laughing at the stars while out feet clung tight to the ground/
So pleased with ourselves for using so many verbs and nouns

This is more spoken that sung, all at what I would call a variable pace.

Interesting stuff. For some reason, this album reminds me of some of the best stuff from the 70�s English rock band, 10CC (another of my favorites-also at Amazon for you�re listening pleasure). Not that they sound much like them (although they liked to throw odd instruments into their songs, and wrote lyrics that required a little dissection to �get�). More in the way they throw convention out the window and still manage to write music that contains hooks and a melody, I guess.

I bought the new U2 cd last Saturday (�How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb�). I�ve been looking forward to that release for several months now.

Want to listen to it in my truck as I commute to work and back. That�s where I do my most attentive listening to new music. I don�t want to play it while I am typing here at the keyboard, and whatever makes it into my cd player at work gets only partial attention from me because I have to, you know, work sometimes.

I haven�t even burned a copy of the U2 disc, here almost one week later.

Just can�t seem to get Modest Mouse out of the player right now�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top