Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Aug. 21, 2007 - 8:58 p.m.

Last weekend�s wedding...

We (Codeman and myself)were the photographers for my co-worker Avery's daughter's wedding last weekend. Between the two of us we took over 800 photographs.

That means I have a ton of editing ahead of me. I told the happy couple to give me two weeks and I will try to have all of the work done.

I think I was being overly optimistic.

So far, I have culled through the 800+, keeping just the photos that I think are worth saving for editing. That narrowed the total down to 200 or so. I have now also cropped all of these to what I think is the right composition for a 4"x6" print. Any other size can be worked out later.

Since the pastor didn't want me to use a flash at any time during the service, I was stuck taking low light photos with the possibility of blurring in each shot. The people at the wedding didn't get the memo about not using a flash- at least 120 people shot their own photos during the service , flashes blazing. Their bursts of light even over-exposed a few of my shots.

And don't get me started on the people who jumped in front of me as I was taking the posed portraits. Yes, this happened more than once, even after I asked everyone there to let me set up the shots and take mine , and then I would step back and let them take as many of the pose as they liked. I even had one person (who will remain unidentified here) that changed one of my setups after I took one (of the usual 3 photos that I take of each pose, to make sure all eyes are open) because she couldn't see her daughter "good enough" (as she put it) the way I had posed her with the bride and other bridesmaids!

Grrrrr!

Anyway- the post wedding photos were taken with an auxiliary flash (not my Rebel's built in flash, which has a very short effective range), and most of them turned out OK. I won't bore you with too many of the photos here- just a few to show you what we have been up to (besides canning too many tomato products, that is).

The groom at Saturday's wedding. moments before the start of the wedding. He was with the preacher and his groomsmen in a "covey hole" beside the church's alter. I thought this moment of reflection on what was about to happen worked well as a photograph:

And my Co-worker Avery, with his daughter and new son-in-law, expressing the feeling most fathers of the bride feel after paying for the wedding:

Maybe I'll post a few more, as I wade through this mass of editing....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top