Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Feb. 01, 2008 - 6:13 p.m.

65 mph winds, followed 36 hours later by 11" of snow? Armageddon, baby! (Or maybe just typical winter weather , eh?)


We had a very odd day of weather on Tuesday. The day started with warm, humid air that brought us 65� highs and a thunderstorm with heavy rain. That happened around 2 pm. By 4 pm, the temperature had dropped to 28�, a roller coaster ride downhill that included wind gust up to 65 miles per hour.

Needless to say, the folks driving semi-tractor trailers didn't enjoy the winds very much.

This one looks bad, but the driver walked away with just a few cuts and bruises. The bridge railing his truck ended up resting on was over a very high bridge on our Interstate- if he had somehow gone all the way over his rig would have dropped almost 150 feet straight down!

This driver had the combined misfortune of having an empty trailer and arriving at a high point in the road where the wind funnels up and over during one of those wind gusts...


So we ended up receiving around 11" of light ,powdery snow over the last 36 hours. From the time I started my shift at 7 pm Thursday evening until I climbed out of my truck to go home the snow never stopped for one moment. From midnight to 3 am the heaviest snow fell, along with that somewhat rave phenomenon of "thunder snow" I only heard on crack of thunder (since the snow muffles the sound, you rarely hear the thunder. That means that bolt of lightning was far too close for comfort). That would also make the snow that fell during this time a snow "downpour", I guess.

All I know is I was so wired from the effort that I never felt like I was nodding off all night. Had a hard time falling asleep when I came home, for that matter.

It's now 6:10 pm, and I have to put on the snow boots and head back in for another evening of clean-up. I took my camera with me last night, but low light conditions aren't conducive to fine photography. That, and I was too damn busy to take pictures anyway.

Maybe something will stand out tonight. I shouldn't have to push my truck (and myself) quite as hard this evening...

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top