Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



January 18, 2002 - 7:34 p.m.

I promised you yesterday to put a link if they put any pictures of me in the paper. Well, they only put one picture of yours truly in the article about our warm winter. I don�t look like a dufus because my head is the size of a pea. The photographer used a wide-angle lens (insert you weight jokes �bout me here). If you go to the page I linked above, the photo is about the size of a postage stamp. Click on it, and another box opens up with a better view, and a statement from me.

Ignore the name, please. The whole point of this journal is to write about whatever subjects interest me. That means I sometimes rant about my employer (see this entry if you don't know what I�m talking about), so it�s best if nobody at work knows who is writing this journal.

I took my share of ribbing for the photo, but I knew that was coming anyway. I had calls from the lead workers in two of the counties I purchase supplies for, asking me how I have time to do my job if I am goofing of with people from the newspaper all day. Several of my co-workers gave me a hard time about it, also.

This photo-op was a no-win situation, so I just had to grin and bear it.


Forecast for tonight�Snow developing around 9 p.m., with a total accumulation of 1 � by morning.

Yeah, sure.

When I went to bed last night the forecast for today was cold and clear. No mention of any precipitation.

I will believe it when I see it. I will put off my shower as long as possible. I have been in the shower stall when the callout came before, so no use taking chances.


Last night Codeman had on of his �Youth Leadership� meetings, so we were free for the evening. We decided to have a nice, quiet dinner by ourselves.

We always have a hard time deciding where to eat out. That shouldn�t be a problem in a county that has over 120,000 people living in it. But, unless you like chain restaurants, there aren�t a lot of good options.

If you are in a hurry and want a great, cheap hamburger, you can�t beat Krekels. We have 4 of them in town, all started by a local man. Paper-thin burgers grilled �til crispy. Like Steak�n�Shake, only tastier. And, about half the cost of those �steakburgers�.

Krekel�s is not a place for a nice, romantic dinner out, though. So, we decided to stop by Robbie�s. Because it is located on Merchant street ( I wrote about this area last month) we forget about it when going over where we could eat. We just think of the places around the mall. That�s a mistake.

We don�t dine at this cozy bistro often enough. Their menu is casual, but leaning towards gourmet. Most items on the menu change daily, and the portions aren�t so large you feel bloated when you leave. Presentation is everything, and everything they make is artfully arranged.

Damn, I�m starting to sound like a restaurant critic. Sorry!

Anyway�..

Last night at Robbie�s, we split two appetizers (a bowl of tomato-barley soup and an order of Bruschetta , made with fresh tomatoes, basil, and olive oil). My entr�e was grilled Yellowfin tuna steak with Joe�s sauce (homemade lemony-mayonnaise) and sugar-snap peas saut�ed with red peppers. Lease had a grilled chicken breast sandwich with smoked cheddar cheese on a fresh French roll, and smashed potatoes with roasted garlic added to them. We also split an order of tira misu, ladyfingers all soaked in espresso with creamy custard on top. We never eat desert out, but Lease mentioned to the waiter that it sounded good. After hemming and hawing, we decided we wouldn�t order the desert.

When the waiter brought us our check, he also put a tiny order of tira misu on the table. It was only about two bites, but he knew he would have a sale if he gave us a sample.

We finished off the full-sized desert in about 2 minutes.

The cost for this meal, including drinks?

$31.75

We can�t eat at Applebee�s for that, and the food was so much better at Robbie�s.

We will have to remind ourselves to stop there more often��


If I get some sleep tonight, I will make my weekly music reviews tomorrow.

If anyone pays attention to them�

If not, The Chicago Bears play at 3 p.m. I should have had enough sleep by then to enjoy their playoff game with the Philadelphia Eagles.

Might have time for an entry after the game��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top