Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



2002-01-17 - 8:03 p.m.

After a string of uneventful days, today was like giving a speech in front of the class and a kick to the gut.

Please let me explain�.


The �giving the speech in from of the class� part:

This afternoon, while we were taking our break, a reporter from our local paper (the same paper I ridicule here as often as possible) stopped by our yard. He asked MOM if he could do a photo essay/article about what we are doing with our time, now that it doesn�t snow here anymore.

She decided to have me take the loader down to the salt dome, fill the bucket with salt, and bring it up to the brine hopper to simulate me, makin� the brine.

Oh, I forgot to tell you. Reporterman would be following me around, snapping something like 462 pictures of me doing this task. Me, driving the loader. Me, looking out of the cab of the loader, making sure the bucket is full of salt. Me, looking up at the huge salt stockpile. Me, dumping some of the salt into the hopper. Me, looking like a dufus the whole time.

Thanks, MOM!

I guess someone had to do this, but why me? Oh well, glad to help out....

He was a nice enough man, and I am sure he won�t twist anything I said around to make it look like I don�t do anything all day.

Don�t want the public to think that, do we?

If this photo shoot doesn�t end up on the floor with the N�Sync scene from the new Star Wars movie, I will link the photos (from their web page) here in my diary.

If�in I don�t look too much like a dufus, that is��


The �kick in the gut� part�.

Codeman called me at work today about 15 minutes before closing time. He wanted me to know that a backhoe was in the alley behind our house, digging up a water line.

I told him I knew this was to happen, because the neighbor who lives behind us told me about it a few days ago. His next-door neighbor had a water problem, and they were going to dig his whole backyard up to lay a new line form the city feeder line to his house. I told him to not worry about it.

That wasn�t why he called me. He called me because when the backhoe operator started this little project, he put the stabilizers down (for the tractor) in my garden bed by our fence.

I always plant in this area, even though one half of it is the city�s property. The alley used to be for garbage collection (years ago) but is now abandoned and covered with grass. So, I knew that if they ever had to dig the utilities up, my garden bed would be sacrificed.

That isn�t the worst news. This is the bed where I planted my garlic last fall.

I still have the garlic I planted in my garden #2 at work, so I won�t have to go begging on the street to be able to make my salsa this summer.

The backhoe operator did use his bucket to pick up the entire section (the ground is still frozen) where the garlic was growing above the soil line, sat it aside, and put it back where if was originally. For that, I am very grateful.

The backhoe operator must be a gardener, too�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top