Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



April 03, 2002 - 8:48 p.m.

The refrigerator story�..

Since Greylady reminded me today, I will tell you the refrigerator story.

Last week, someone noticed that the �fridge at the storage was not keeping the food very cold. Then, last Friday I went to the freezer to fill my cup with ice cubes and found that the ice trays were just filled with water, not ice.

Not good. This �fridge came from my house. It was here when we moved, or I would have never had it in the first place. It was a 1980�s side-by-side model, and was a small one to boot.

Now, if you have the room for one of those honkin� big, 26 cubic-feet-of-space-with-ice-and-water-in-the-door, a side �by-side isn�t bad. But this poor thing was only a 17.4 cubic foot model. Since it was so old, it had a bunch of wasted space for insulation. The newer �fridges take up the same amount of total space but have over 20 cubic feet.

Since it was in such good shape, I wasn�t about to just give it away. I could have run an ad in the local paper and sold it for around $100 dollars. But since the 1952 Philco �icebox� at work was near death (if defrosted, the tiny freezer section would fill up with frost in about 5 days), I offered to bring our old one to the break room if I could get $50 (about half what it was worth) from a collection from the employees.

Of course, several of the guys bitched and moaned about putting in $2 towards the machine. Some of my coworkers would rather loose a limb than part with any of their money, so I didn�t get the full $50. I didn�t really care, because I wanted to have a real �fridge there at work even if they didn�t.

Yes, some of the guys who didn�t chip in use it anyway. You didn�t think they wouldn�t take advantage of it, did you?

Anyway, it was obviously feeling a little sickly. No ice and lukewarm catsup is not a good thing.

Since Deac knew an appliance repairman, I had him call for advice. I was willing to pay a small amount for him to check it out to decide if it was worth repairing or not. He wanted $40 bucks just to check it.

Now, if the �fridge was unfixable I knew I would never hear the end of it. �Five years ago I gave you $2, and now it�s broke? I want my money back! You ripped me off!�

He told me to try one thing before I junked it, though. He said that since it was running in a dusty environment, it might have a build-up of dirt on its condensing coils underneath. Try to blow them out with an air hose, and plug it back in. If that doesn�t do the trick, it�s probably the compressor and time top send it to the appliance store in the sky.

I emptied it out, and then drug it down the hall to the mechanics bay. After removing the grate covering the coils (on floor lever), I put on a dust mask and blew the coils out with our high-pressure air hose.

You couldn�t believe how much dirt and dust flew out of the back of the machine! The whole first bay became so dusty that the shop monkey and the mechanic left until I finished. I went to the backside of the �fridge and repeated the process. Then I hauled it back to the break room. I let it sit for about an hour (to let the refrigerant flow back where it belonged), and then plugged it in.

The motor sounded much stronger, and the air felt cold inside! By the time we left that night, the ice trays had become completely frozen!

Oh yeah, I almost forgot�when I went back to sweep up the mess I left in the shop I made a little discover. There, along with the piles of dirt, was a dead mouse. A fresh, mutilated, very dead mouse.

So, it might not have been just the dirt causing the problem. I think this mouse had crawled into the �fridge for cover, and might have been caught in the fan blade. It looked like he was almost cut in two.

Could this mouse have been the problem? If the fan couldn�t turn, it wouldn�t have much effect on cooling the inside of the �fridge.

It doesn�t matter to me. It�s working fine now, and I didn�t have to shell out any of my money to keep it that way��.


Are you as sick of the word �fridge� as I am right about now?

I will refrain from using it in my �journal� in the future��


Codeman�s team lost today, 4-2, to the parochial team in town again.

Since he didn�t play, it wasn�t anything he did that caused them to loose. All the runs scored against them were due to errors, so I mentioned the game here today.

Oh yeah, and I will still go to every game because I think he still wants me there.

It was colder than January, standing there in the wind today��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top