Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jun. 15, 2002 - 3:52 p.m.

Cicadas and Carp?�.plus, a cd review (bet you thought I retired that

feature, didn�t you?)

I took my Dad fishing this morning. It�s not easy getting him out there fishing, even though he has been retired for over 10 years. He usually has something he needs to do when I bring up the idea, but he always has a good time when I get him to go with me.

Today was no exception. I picked him up around 7:30. Before we could hit the lake, we had to pick him up a fishing license and a carton of wax worms. We made that stop at Mike�s Tackle Shop.

You have to love a bait shop where the owners know you by name. We exchanged small talk, and JoAnn wanted to know why Codeman wasn�t with us. He had to work today, I told her. She said it�s too bad all three of us couldn�t go together, since it�s Father�s day tomorrow.

We also had to pick up a used rear-view mirror for Codeman�s Grand Am. SOMEHOW, the metal broke on one side of the mirror in his car, making it impossible to mount after it fell off the window.

The second auto salvage yard (don�t call them junk yards!) I stopped at had the same mirror. It set me back $5. Not bad.

Why did I get it, and not Codeman? It fell off last night, and he had to work during the hours the A.S.Y.�s were open today.

I DON�T want him driving his car without a rear-view mirror.

No sense giving a local Barney Fifes an excuse to pull him over, right?


The fishing?

Good, but not Carbondale good. My Dad caught somewhere around a dozen bluegill, none as large as the ones we picked up a couple of weeks ago.

My Dad is just happy catching fish, so he had a great time. I caught a few �gils myself, but that isn�t what I spent most of my time fishing for today.

No, I was doing something rather bizarre, fishing-wise.

I was catching carp on cicadas. You know, those annoying 13-year- locusts? �Eeeeee-aaahhhh, eeee-aaahhhh�?

They are almost non-existent here in town this summer, but it must be a heavy year up in Clinton this year. The sound was deafening even before you left your car, and was so loud at the waterfront that we had trouble hearing each other talk unless we were right next to each other.

As soon as we started fishing I saw a man in a bass boat down the bank fighting a large fish. I asked him what he had, and he laughed �A carp! They are all over the brush piles, gobbling up these cicadas as fast as they can!�

I asked him if he minded me coming down the bank to join him, and he said he didn�t.

Here is a photo of what the cicadas look like:

The first 3 times I hooked one of these nasty buggers and tossed them in the water, it took less than a minute to hook up with a large carp. Since I only brought ultra light tackle (for the bluegills) I was only using 4-pound test line. Even though, I might have been able to land them if not for all the logs and brush piles. As soon as they felt the sharp point of the hook they headed into the mess, snapping my line like it was nothing.

After that , I waited until I could see the size of the fish before I dropped my line in the water. I managed to land two smaller carp that went around 2-3 pounds each. I lost one more large fish (I couldn�t pull the bait away from it quick enough), and then the action just stopped. Maybe the sun became too warm, or maybe they figured out that two of us were out there, making the feeding frenzy less attractive.

I have never caught carp this way before. I have caught them (many years ago) on a mulberry tossed below a overhanging branch of a fruit-covered tree. But that was only a couple of times, and only one fish when it happened.

The guy in the boat was loaded up with 15-pound test line, and he had a landing net. He boated at least 8 fish during the time we were there.

Very cool. I bet I never see this happen again in my lifetime.

I just wished I had a heavier rod with me today��


Abster let me know this week that I never posted a review of the album below. Since nobody asked me why I stopped posting reviews, I figured nobody missed them. But, since she asked me for my opinion on this album, I will oblige�.

Weezer��Maladroit��(2002-Geffen Records)--Nobody crams more great music into short cd (only about 30 minutes long, this one is closer to a EP to an LP) than Rivers Cuomo and his bandmates. Coming one day short of a year after the great �Green� album, Weezer is hard to put a label on. They release one of the best albums of the early 90�s in �Weezer(blue album)�, record a album that fell flat when released (�Pinkerton�), then disappear from the music seen for over 5 years. After �Pinkerton� slowly became a cult favorite, Cuomo and the band have returned to the music scene in a big way.

This album is similar to the last album, but on many of the songs on �Maladroit�, Cuomo seems to have wrote music to play in a larger setting than a local club. The power chords are harder, the bass line chugs along, and his vocals are out front and powerful. The lead guitar work (especially on the solos) is very creative. With the exception of �death and destruction�, the songs are fast-paced and packed with catchy hooks. The standout songs for me are �slob�, a song portraying the insults thrown at a man by his father (?), with some great distorted guitar work, and �nose dope� and 'keep fishin', with their similar, playful background vocals and stutter-start and stop rhythm sections. Picking out my favorites is hard, because I like the whole album. With each album, this band continues to grow. Cuomo�s guitar playing gets more inventive, the guys get tighter playing with him, and the songwriting gets more adventuresome. I can highly recommend this cd to anyone who enjoys well-written,creative rock music.

Now, when are they playing around here?


Oh yeah, one more thing:

Lease drove the hillbilly truck today so I could take my Dad in the car.

She noticed the �check brake� light was lit on her way home, but didn�t see any difference in the trucks stopping ability.

I hopped behind the wheel and put my foot on the pedal.

It went almost to the floor. Not good.

I popped the hood and checked the brake fluid level. It was down a little, but not bad. I checked all four wheels-no noticeable leaks. I then drove it around the block, hitting the pedal hard a couple of times.

When I got back out at home, I could see the fluid dripping on the ground in front of the drivers-side rear wheel. The line had sprung a leak between the front and back wheels.

Joy!

I filled the fluid enough to limp it to my friend�s shop. I called him at home, and he said he would fix it Monday. I told him to check all the lines, and to change any that even LOOK like they might go out on us.

I hate my truck��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top