Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jun. 17, 2002 - 7:41 p.m.

The first day of early hours, and I am already dead tired�

I think it might have something to do with cramming so much into the weekend, but I spent most of the day fighting off a state of stupor.

Or maybe that�s my normal mode. I don�t know.

I just couldn�t concentrate on my paperwork. I have been trying to balance the ledgers with all the end-of-year spending, but I can�t seem to figure out where I have things wrong.

Part of it comes from other people putting expenditures into the computer without telling me. One of my categories is �over the counter fuel�. This covers all the State cars and pick-up trucks in our county. That sheet is about $100 off right now, and I think I might have to go back to last July to figure out why. Somebody has added their fuel tickets from way back and didn�t bother to tell me. I know that�s what it is.

Oh, sorry! I see you nodding off out there, reading this exciting paragraph.

I will try to make things a little more interesting the rest of this entry.

Wish me luck�..


Going through fishing withdrawal, right about now��.


The Hillbilly Truck is not fixed yet. Since it waited to break down until Saturday, my mechanic had already lined up enough work for his guys to keep them busy all day. They had just pulled it into the garage when I was heading home for work. Since they don�t keep most part in stock, all they would get done today was diagnostics.

Might be done tomorrow. Might not, if much needs to be done or if parts can�t be found in town.

No biggie. One more day in the shop is one less day I have to drive this scrap pile.

By the way�.I still haven�t figured out how my truck managed to leave me a guestbook entry (read entry number 714).


I cooked Lease her favorite meal tonight, chicken with pesto pasta. I brought home some of my Vidalia onions from my garden at work for this dish. I also cooked yesterday�s catfish for Codeman and me. This meal might sound a little mixed-up, but I baked the catfish with orange-pepper seasoning, butter, garlic, and Parmesan cheese. I cooked them under the broiler, and sprinkled Panko breadcrumbs over the top for the last couple of minutes of cooking.

They turned out o.k. If the only catfish you have ever eaten came from farm-raised fish, you might think these were a little �gamy�. I don�t mind the stronger flavor.

Codeman ate his, so that�s a good sign.


Quick gardening information:

How do I grow Vidalia onions this far north?

Not as well as they do in Georgia, but better than you might think.

For years, I always passed on putting these sweet onions in my beds up here. I had read all of the information I could on growing better onions, and everything I read said that �short-day onions� weren�t worth the bother this far north. I have grown Walla Walla and other �long-day� varieties with decent results, so I just skipped the urge to buy a bundle of Vidalia plants.

Three years ago, Jim S. (one of our yearly winter temps) called me up. He and his wife have a huge garden, and I try to give him a few plants every spring to add to his beds. I had given him several different types of cabbage that year, and he wanted me to come down to his farm and pick a head or two for my family.

After deciding on my heads of cabbage, I noticed that he had a long row of onions that were already �fallen over� (a sign that they are ready for harvest). It was about this time of year, so all of my varieties were still in the growth stage.

I asked him what they were, and he told me �Those are our green onions. My wife always buys a bundle of Vidalia plants and grows them for early pickin�. We use them in our salads, but I never harvest them because they are too small�.

Too small? I pulled a few up, and they were anywhere from the size of a golf ball to almost the size of baseballs!

He explained that his main crop of onions get much bigger, so he didn�t bother with these �little ones�.

I offered to take them off of his hands, and he told me to take all I wanted. I filled a plastic grocery store, kept a few for my family, and took the rest to work to share with our fellow co-workers.

They were great! Very sweet, but not quite as sweet as the real thing. Something about Georgia's low-sulfur soil can�t be duplicated elsewhere.

Or so they want us to believe.

Still, worth the effort.

The past two springs I have planted one bundle of these onions. They are ready weeks before the main crop, giving us a longer harvest and supply for the table.

They say that if you don�t eat Vidalia onions quick enough, they will rot. I have seen that happen with store bought onions.

I have never had that happen with the ones I grow for the Roadiepig household. I start picking them as soon as the bulbs start forming, and have a continuous supply for about a month.

Pretty good payoff for a $1.29 bundle of plants every March, I think���..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top