Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jul. 29, 2002 - 7:49 p.m.

If I can�t have them, nor can the tree rats! Plus- updates on many small things here at Roadiepigland�

Today�s entry is one of these �catching you up on things� kinda entries.

Why?

I started the floor-stripping project at work today. Day one is when we move everything in the break room from the north side to the south side. After everything is crammed as tightly as possible, I sweep up all the loose dirt.

Excited yet?

Hang on, it gets even more thrilling!

The next step is mixing up the wax stripper, and then applying this gloppy mixture to one-half of the north side of the room. I let it sit for about 20 minutes, and then I run the high-speed buffer with a scrubbing pad over the now-slippery mess on the floor.

See, I told ya it gets better!

Next: use a squeegee to push this greasy goo into one area, soak it up with a rag mop head, and return to the wash bay for a mop bucket full of hot, clean water.

This step is to clean up any remaining residue from the stripper.

Repeat over the other half of the north side of the break room.

Calm down!

Take deep breaths! I didn�t mean to make you hyperventilate!

This took me all day. I skipped one of my breaks, and took a short lunch to get the task completed.

Tomorrow?

Wax application!


Now, on to the updates.

It�s not like I can make a whole entry out of floor maintenance, can I?


Gee, I�m glad I didn�t spend four years in college, only to take the job I have made my career.

A couple of my co-workers have degrees, btw.

Only one is using his degree in his line of work.

And that would be Emmett. His main occupation is as a farmer, and his degree is in farm management.

We used to have workers at the state that had degrees that had nothing to do with our job.

One had a degree in education, but decided he didn�t want to teach.

Been nice to figure that out before your parents sprung for a degree, don�t you think?

That guy is now at the local women�s prison. His job is the �Homer Simpson� position.

His job is to sit and watch gauges all day (in the mechanical wing). If any of them turn bad, he calls someone from the shop to fix the problem.

Yeah, his degree really comes into handy there.


We also had another guy who had TWO degrees.

His major was in Zoology. His minor was in Botany.

Um, yeah.

And now? He is the State's co-coordinator for the volunteer trash pick-up on the right-of-way.

Well, he did answer a few of my gardening questions while he was here, so I guess he didn�t waste his time at State U., did he?


Update on the peach trees:

Friday night, I counted 65 peaches on the first-to-ripen tree.

Saturday night, I was down to 30. They were still about 2 weeks from ripening.

That was the final straw. I removed the bird netting (Hah! Like that was slowing the tree rats down any!), and picked what fruit was left on the tree. I put them down in the basement, but I don�t have much hope in them ripening.

Like the title of the entry says :If I can�t have them, nor can the furry little bastards.

I even picked up all the partially eaten fruit off the ground. If one or two bites weren�t enough for them to finish the fruit then, they now wouldn�t get to go back and finish them up.

Next up for the vermin?

The other peach tree. It�s about two weeks away, as of today. They have started on it already, but I might get some of the fruit before they eat them all.

Maybe.

They still haven�t found the nectarines on the miniature tree in front of our house. It is loaded, and could produce up to a bushel of sweet fruit if they leave it alone.

Keep your fingers crossed for me�.


Latest Google hits:

�marijuana plants didn�t get water for 2 weeks�

Huh? I don�t remember writing about that subject�

�dog shit photos�

I KNOW I haven�t written about that.

�peach salsa� (several times this weekend)

I guess some people have less trouble with tree rats than I do�.

I might have to post that recipe here soon. I have $17 worth of locally grown, tasty peaches ripening on the kitchen table as I write this (Bought at the local Farmer�s Market this Saturday. I even scored a � peck of WHITE peaches. Very cool!)

�Which Osborne are you?� (Five different times today alone!)

Sorry, folks. The person who ran that quiz has dropped it from their server. I went to the page where I wrote about it, and it is gone. Only a �Box with an X through it� remains.

�radar stud finder�

I am confused. I did write about using a stud finder, and I mentioned �Radar�, a coworker in the same entry. When I went to Google to see what I was lumped with, it was a bunch of pages that were advertising Gay sex.

Hum? I hope whoever landed here from that search wasn�t too disappointed.

I�m not up on the term. Is there some new device for finding �Studs� that uses Radar?

Anyone?

I am curious about this terminology, but, as most of you already know- I am not Gay�.

Not that there is anything wrong with that (quoting Jerry Steinfeld, of course)����


Damn, are you still reading this crap?

I am up to page 4 on Microsoft �Word�.

All that space, and it�s just me rambling along about much of nothing.

Here. Click on this page, and read some good writing.

I finally updated my �Favorites and Links� page. If I missed anyone: you know who you are. Email me and remind me that I love you, �k?

You know how us old people are. The memory is the first thing to go..����

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top