Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jul. 31, 2002 - 5:17 p.m.

Well, somehow I've made it�.

Made what, you might ask?

I made it a full year writing my �journal� here at Diaryland.

Thank you, thank you. You are so very kind.

You can stop applauding now.

Anyway.............I thought about how I should mark this �milestone�.

Some D-landers write a long entry, listing all of their favorite entries that they have written in the past 12 months.

I won�t do that, because I don�t have any favorites. I think that almost all of my entries are perfectly mediocre. How can I select the few that are the top of the sub-average?

Some people write an entry, telling everyone how much they enjoy being loved by their readers. I even had one diary that I used to read (but who has been removed from my fav�s list for some time now) who asked everyone to write to him, so he could be told why everyone (his readers) loved him.

What an egotistical jerk! I actually had him on my fav�s list?

For some reason, after that entry I couldn�t find a reason to spend time on his page anymore. He is probably still out there in d-land, telling everyone who stops by how great a person he still is.

I thought a bit about this today (when I noticed that today is the day I started last year), and I came to the decision to write about what this �journal� meant to me.

1. This has been a good daily mental exercise for me. If you have read my stuff very much, you might find that statement laughable. But, no it�s really true.

My job doesn�t provide much mental stimulation on a regular basis. �State Highway�. I think I might say that into a telephone receiver about 50 times in an average day. At least 5 of those calls are for the drivers license office, not us (it only took me about 2 months to finally memorize their number. I now cut the caller short as soon as I hear �My plates are expired� or �How can I get my drivers license renewed?� to save them time)

Mixing brine? Plowing snow?

Yeah, I need to write something just to keep the atrophy to a minimum.

2.This has been a good outlet to blow off steam. Working for a bureaucracy, you can understand why I might need to rant now and then.

3.Writing here helped me deal with a personal loss. After all, the page still bears her name, even thought she is no longer with us.

4.It has taught me to be very careful in what I put here to be read (great syntax there, huh?). When I write a rambling entry, I sometimes don�t make the point I meant. Unlike a simple friendly conversation, when you write something that is misunderstood, it�s there for all to read and take exception too. That is, until I notice the screw up, or someone writes me, asking what the fuck is wrong with me.

Yes, this happens a lot. I blame my public school education, but its probably just being too lazy to double-check what I just wrote.

5.This �journal� has lead me to several new online friends, and even a few enemies. I haven�t met anyone in person through this page, but that will change here in a couple of weeks. I have exchanged g-book entries, notes, and even some emails (deep and otherwise) with people I would never had �met� otherwise.

Even when I haven�t always been on the same page with you, I have enjoyed this interaction. If nothing else, this has made me a little more understanding to different points of view other than mine. Considering some of my coworkers already think I am too liberal, that is saying something.

I enjoy writing this page. I have days where I just stare at the screen, wondering what the fuck I could possibly write about my day that would be worth reading.

But that doesn�t stop me from posting some form of crap here anyway.

Hopefully, I will still be here a year from now, cranking out even more boring gardening news, fishing stories, tale of my life with Lease and the Codeman, photos of our lives (if I don�t run out of web file storage space) and anything else I can come up with to fill up space.

How do I end this today?

Simple�.

Thank you for reading my �journal�.

Peace out.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top