Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Sept. 06, 2002 - 6:32 p.m.

Hair styling?......

Went to Peg�s tonight to get my hair styled.

Is that term still in use? It�s sounds sorta 70�s, but that is what I call it.

Peg has been my hair stylist for a long time. I started going to her when I was 16. My friend Gary started having her cut his hair before me, and she did a good job. I had been through about 5 different stylists in the mid 70�s, and had been butchered by them all.

At the time, I was wearing my hair long. The sides and back were past my shoulders- very mid 70�s. Since my hair is course and thick, that meant it wasn�t easy to cut and control as if I had been born with flat, thin hair.

Peg was just out of barber�s college, and was (and is still, of course) only a couple of years older than me. She has never given me a bad haircut, and has become more of a friend than a barber to my family and me.

Put it this way: Lease invited her to my 40th b-day party last year.

Yeah, she is more like family.

Anyway��..

Today, I had to find her new location.

That was another constant: she has been in the same building since about 1979.

She decided it was time to move to a new location for two reasons.

1. The building housing her shop had changed owners. The new owners run the nursing home across the parking lot from her shop.

Not a good sign. Her lease was up, and she figured they would start working on moving her out. She figures they have other plans for the area, and if they decided they want to tear down the old office building and build an addition, she would be out on the street.

2. (This is the one that made me cringe-reason #1 below) Her clientele is getting older, and several of her regulars were having trouble getting inside of her old shop. She now has three people who are wheelchair-bound, two with Parkinson�s disease, and a couple more who have sight and depth perception problems.

Her old shop had three steps in the front, or four in the back. Both being a major challenge for these customers to transverse.

So, a new shop was a necessity for Peg.

The building containing her new shop is part of a strip-like office complex. The entry is almost flat to the parking lot, and she has added a very small incline leading up to the door to make it even easier for the wheelchair customers.

So, all good for everyone involved.

But, two things came to mind, after I drove home tonight.

1.I am one of her �young� customers?

2.She mentioned that she would be retiring in another 12 years. I think that will be around the time her husband retires from the railroad.

So, you know what that means, don�t you?

In twelve years, I will have to find another stylist. I can�t imagine dropping by the corner barbershop and getting a �cut� from a �barber�.

Notice I said �a new stylist�.

Peg can�t be replaced.


Worst haircut I ever received?

Easy.

Freshman year of high school. Day before class pictures are to be taken. My sister (whom I have since forgiven) decided that she knew how to cut hair, and offered to give me a great new look for pictures.

She didn�t tell me that she had smoked pot all day before she decided that she could cut hair.

Imagine the worst possible haircut, with several different lengths of hair and a few scalped spots. Then add 50% more to that and you can imagine how I looked when she was done.

When my dad saw what had happened, he didn�t know whether to laugh at me or cry.

The next morning, he called the school and told them I would be late. Then he took me to the local barbershop, and he gave them some time to try to fix the damage before I had to get my picture taken.

To this day, I won�t show that picture to anyone.

Hell, I didn�t even buy a yearbook that year�����.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top