Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Sept. 23, 2002 - 8:27 p.m.

The makers of the movie �The Fast and the Furious� might be to blame�

We have had two grizzly death-producing car accidents here in Mohall in the past 48 hours. Both involved cars driving at high speeds. One is being blamed on drag racing. One they are not sure of, but suspect the same.

Early Sunday morning (around 2 am) two cars were driving side by side on a local road when one driver lost control and left the road, striking (and splintering) a huge power line pole, causing the instant death of both front seat passengers. One was decapitated. The passenger in the back seat was only 14, and walked away from the wreckage.

Here is the really sad part- open alcohol was found in the car. Details are sketchy, but the front seat occupants were a 24-year-old Aunt and her 15-year-old niece.

It appears the 15-year-old was the driver.

Both of the younger occupants went to school with Codeman, although he didn�t know them personally.

The other accident happened late last night, and left one young man dead.

All involved senseless loss of life. Both were (likely) due to street racing, made to look glamorous in last summer�s blockbuster �The Fast and Furious�.

I caught the last part of a special on street racing on MTV a few nights ago, and was pleasantly surprised at how the presented the issue. They showed several photos of accident scenes, and had the friends and parents of several drivers (who had died in wrecks) trying to convey how the deaths changed their lives.

At least they weren�t glamorizing outlaw racing.

Look, I am all for drag racing, as long as it�s not on the local roads. You have a fast car and want to show it off? Go to a drag strip, pay your fee and run the quarter mile.

Just stay off of the road.


I don�t know why I felt the need to write the paragraphs above, other than it�s weighted heavily on my mind all day, after seeing the twisted wreckage of the girl�s car.

That, and since I am officially �older than dirt� I have to shake my fist at the young whippersnappers, telling them to slow down.

And turn that damn �Rap music down, too!


Thanks to all who wished me a (early) Happy b-day in my guestbook.

Also, thank you for worrying about my head pain episode on Friday. I think Strangerlucy, Joleen(sorry for the oversight,J!), and Wantcarvel have it right- it must have been just a migraine.

Like I said, I don�t get bad headaches very often. I hardly get headaches at all, for that matter. I had a couple of allergy-induced sneezing jags earlier in the day, so that might have brought it on.

Anyway, I am not running a 104� fever or anything, so I guess you can rule out West Nile�


What a �Monday� entry this is turning out to be, eh?


I heard the press conference with that wacky Irish Traveler, Madelyn Gorman/Toogood (to be true?), gave today to explain why she needed to punch her poor , defenseless 4-year-old daughter in the face 10 or more times, after she slammed her into her car seat and hit her repeatedly only moments earlier.

It seems she was �having a bad day�.

Yeah, that sure clears it up for me.

If she thinks she was having a bad day last Thursday (after she tried to �return� some jeans that �didn�t fit her�, and the store refused to give her a refund, she just exchange them for ones that did fit her. Nothing worse than having one of your moneymaking scams go bad on you, right?), can�t you just see what kind of �bad days� she has ahead of her in the women�s penitentiary?

I hear that women in jail just love child abusers!


If you want to read a non-biased (so they say) page about the Irish Travelers, click on this here link.

Want to read about arrests involving some of their scam artists,click on this link

I remember watching a story about these con men on Dateline NBC a year or so ago, detailing how they make their money (mainly through home improvement rip-offs and selling stolen goods, and getting refunds for goods they have stolen from stores-sound familiar?).

I remember that the houses that NBC identified as being owned by leaders of the Tennessee branch were nothing less than mansions, and, for some reason they had no records of filing income tax returns or of being employed anywhere.

I bet they just love the fact that her actions have placed the spotlight on their community.

Nothing grifters like more than people asking them all kinds of questions�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top