Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Sept. 24, 2002 - 8:05 p.m.

Like the great poet R. Kelly once said, �Age is just a number��.

41?

So, this is what 41 feels like, huh?

I don�t feel 41. Well, some days I do. Those usually involve the over-consumption of adult beverages the night before, though.

I guess I should write some profound bit of sage advise for the young�uns out there, telling you of all the knowledge I have gained from my years on this planet.

I think that would be a little presumptuous, though.

I once read a quote from somebody famous whose name I can�t remember right now (the mind is the first thing to go, I have heard. I think I heard that somewhere, anyway) about learning.

Maybe it was Einstein? I can�t remember!

Anyway�.

When asked about what their trick was to being the genius they became, his (or her) replay was �You never stop learning, no matter how old you get. The day you stop learning is the day you die�.

Words to live by, even if I can�t remember who said them.

Hey wait�maybe it was Elmer Fudd in a Bugs bunny cartoon?


I have had a good day, thanks to several things that happened today.

I checked my email before leaving for work this morning, and several people stopped by my g-book to wish me a happy b-day. Thank you all! I will respond to each entry personally, as soon as possible. I might have to skip reading entries tonight, just to get it done.

Lease asked me last week what she could do for my b-day. Since she made me promise to keep her b-day low-key, I told her to do the same for mine. No party (um, I guess dinner last Saturday night doesn�t count as a party), and no big gift.

�Make me some soft-cooked eggs for breakfast. That will be nice, and plenty for a gift, too�, I told her back then.

I woke to the aroma of toast and eggs in the skillet. She was just sliding them onto a plate when I entered the kitchen.

I am a creature of habit in the mornings, always waking and leaving at the same time. She timed it perfectly, and after a kiss I carried my plate to the living room to enjoy my (The government has warned me many times about the dangers of eating under-cooked eggs. I don�t care; I�ll take my chance with the salmonella. I love a corner of toast dipped into liquid yoke) peppery soft-cooked eggs.

I went to work (whoopee!), and accomplished almost nothing. The MMI computer system has been down for two days now, so I couldn�t pay bills, enter fuel tickets, or do anything else involving this antique piece of crap.

Please note: If you are a service or supply provider for the State, you will be paid. Just a few days late, that�s all. Sorry for any inconvenience this delay may cause you. But, if you sell anything to the State, you don�t expect to get paid in a timely fashion anyway, do you? I didn�t think so�..

I managed to stay awake all day (well, almost all day-I did doze off some during afternoon break time), and managed to drive home without being struck by any drag racers.

Took a 30-minute fast walk, took a shower, and waited for Lease to come home from her workplace.

She did buy me a couple of small gifts. I scored:

1. Two nice triangular graters (one large and one small) that I had seen at Kohl�s recently. She noticed, and went back last week to pick them up for me.

2.A t-shirt (a deep blue-green in color) with the members of the Peanuts family across the front (yes, I like Charlie Brown. Kinda nerdy, but deal with it).

3.Two pounds of Dove� dark chocolate promises (she do know me, don�t she?)

Dinner at Red Lobster.

Still stuffed. Happy, though�..


So, I guess turning 41 isn�t that bad.

After all, the only other alterative to growing older is dying.

I would like to delay that for as long as possible��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top