Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Oct. 17, 2002 - 7:42 p.m.

Beavis pick a bad day to take off�plus more dumb warnings�

Beavis is officially off (from the State, that is) for the next 7 workdays. This is very unusual for him. He always ends up having to take vacation days at the end of the year, or he looses them. The state only lets you carry over the equivalency of two years earned on January 1st. Any more time than that and the state just takes it away from you.

Since Beavis lives for his job (I work so that I can live my life, which is the opposite), he has to be forced to take off.

So for him to take 7 consecutive days off is a little unusual, to say the least.

Today, it really cost him.

About 1 pm, someone from the road construction field office started calling for him on the state radio. After a few tries, they called the storage. When I told them that he was not there, they asked me if there was ANY way I could contact him at home.

I asked this man (who I don�t know) why I should bother him on a day off, and he said , �Because the local country music station just announced his name on the air. If he calls back, he either is registered for or wins $1000! I don�t know which, I just know they called HIS NAME!�

I was told he had about 20 minutes left.

No, I didn�t ignore the phone call. He may be a little goofy, but I wouldn�t want him to loose out on that kind of money (hell, maybe there would be a box of doughnuts for the guys if he won).

First, I called his house.

I got the answering machine. I left a �you only have 15 minutes to call�� message on it, and then I went to my only other option:

I called his pager. His State- owned pager.

He loves his job so much; I took the chance that he might be carrying it even while off.

No, he never called back. He must really be out of town .

His loss�.


You might have noticed that I added the little .gif of the stick man, shoveling something heavy in the column to the left. He is the official �Save Our Employees Lives In The Work Zones� mascot. �Give �em a break. Slow down.� Has been our motto for the last decade.

Just a daily reminder that highway workers die at an alarming rate , trying to make the roads safer for you, the traveling public.

We have had at least 9 guys (that I can remember) in our 12-county district die from roadway accidents since I started working for the state about 20 years ago. I think the number is even higher, but I seemed have managed to block some of them from my memory��.


Lease is a little puny tonight (stomach, headache), so I will leave you with one last thing.

Do you know what a MSDS sheet is?

It is the Material Safety Data Sheet, a government-required form that has to be included with any dangerous item (chemical, poison, and such) sold commercially to the business world. This is to help the people who will be using the harmful substance protect themselves from possible harm.

But it, like all government programs, can get a little silly.

Case in point:

Today one of the guys bought a roll of emery cloth. The best way to describe it is �sandpaper on a roll�.

We use it to polish rusted steel, and to take burrs off of round metal. We use it a lot this time of year, after we replace bad bearings on the auger boxes.

Anyway�.the company who sold us the emery cloth was required to give us the MSDS sheet for it, too.

Here are some of the �hazards� that come with the use of this product:

Eye protection: recommended by OSHA. Dust MAY get into your eyes!

Protective gloves: as desired by user. Skin: Not absorbed through skin; MAY cause abrasion of skin (duh?)

Ingestion: No known adverse effects but ingestion is not recommended (really??!!)

Yes, we are a nation of people who need the govenment to take care of us�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top