Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Oct. 18, 2002 - 7:56 p.m.

Too much pork (if that is possible),and a trip to the spa?

Today was the day that I paid back my coworkers for their help.

Help in collecting Meagmillion dollars for my Lease, that is.

I thought it would be nice to pay for our annual �Sick of getting the trucks ready for inspection� cookout, instead of collecting money from everyone to pay for it.

I had a little help. The State credit union sent us a check earlier this week for National Credit Union Day (or some such thing) for $25. They told us to use it to buy doughnuts for the employees at the storage.

Now, we have some mighty big eaters out there (myself, unfortunately, included), but with only 18 active employees , that would work out to about 9 chunks of fried�in-dough fat per person.

That is even beyond our abilities, I am afraid.

Since we were also out of canned coffee (and asking for the money for a $4 can is like asking for some people�s life savings), I bought a new can out of the credit union check.

That left me with around $21. I used that to pay for a � sheet cake (carrot, with cream cheese icing), a dozen of Wallyworld�s Kris-pee Kreeeeem knock-offs, and a few bags of chips (Frito-Lay, for those keeping track).

I bought 5 packs (of 6) of Ballpark-style pre-cooked Johnsonville Brats, 3 packs of Ekrich� smoked sausages (bun-sized, and also pre cooked), and a 6-pack of the new Oscar/Mayer jumbo all-beef franks. I also bought 2 large containers of potato salad, a squeeze container of mustard, 3 12-packs of pop (Coke�, Diet Coke�, and Diet Mt. Dew� ) and a small tub of margarine (which I didn�t use, but will next week after I harvest some of my cauliflower).

When I told Lease Thursday that I was planning this, she stopped by the bread store and bought the hot dog buns.

She wanted to be a part of it, too.

I also brought in a jar of pickled Jalapeno peppers, a jar of Vidalia onion relish, and several of my hot yellow onions.

Fighting the strong south wind, I managed to cook (and not burn) all of the processed pork by our 11:30 lunchtime. I think everyone was totally full. They should have been, because there were just scraps of everything left when they all returned to work.

I hope they enjoyed the meal. I think they did.

But you know one thing that left me kinda perplexed?

Several of the guys ate the food, left the break room, and never once asked where the money for the food came from. I guess they thought I was able to buy all that stuff with the $25 check.

Don�t get me wrong- almost everyone made a point to thank me, and told me to tell Lease thanks, too. I didn�t write this to whine about not getting thanked.

I just wonder how the 3 or 4 guys thought all the food showed up, right at lunchtime, and nobody asked them to chip in?

BTW- all of them were people who didn�t give us any of the play money, either.

But I didn�t have to tell you that, did I?


Lease finally goes to the spa tomorrow.

She hasn�t had time to check out what they have to offer since she won the prize( back a few Sundays ago), but I think she will find something to make her relaxed and happy.

I hope, anyway. If not, then she has 11 more months of something she won�t use.

I doubt that, though�


Tomorrow is also Codeman�s last high school homecoming.

He had to convince his g-friend (the lovely Chelsea) that they should go. She doesn�t seem to be the �typical high school girl�, I think.

That�s a good thing, BTW�.

She finally decided she wanted to go, and she helped Codeman pick out his clothes to match what she bought.

Their school colors are Blue, Black and silver. Her dress is black, and his shirt and tie are silver.

Try to match flowers to that combo.


The flower shop I worked at in high school (yeah- decades ago..ha ha) told Lease they could make something that would look great with those colors. They said they would die the tips of her flowers for her corsage black, and that it would look great.

I am glad that they are doing it. We have used the local Kroger grocery store for school flowers in the past (hey-they were them for a few hours, and then throw them out, right? Why pay a high-priced florist for that, right?), but for this large task only the real thing will do.

We will find out tomorrow if my old boss Bill still has the magic touch��.

Since I mentioned Codeman here, I have a favor to ask you:

Go to his D-land web page, and ask him why he hasn�t updated lately, would you?

He is only a part-time student this year (some days he only has one class, for 80 minutes, all day!), and I think he has updated something like twice in the past 2 months.

He needs the writing exercise, but I can�t tell him that. That would be his DAD , complaining about him not doing something.

Now, if y�all ask him �what�s up� and �where have you gone to?�, he might get around to writing something again.

It�s worth a try, anyway���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top