Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2002 - 7:20 p.m.

Headquarters management fucked up today- nothing new there��.plus a good stir fry to empty the vegetable drawer�

Yeah, I know I haven�t pointed out my employer for stupidity and mismanagement much lately. I guess I have been so busy at work lately (stop laughing!) that I haven�t had time to reflect on the little things that make our government here in North Dakota what it is- a mess.

Last summer (early August, I believe), we were told to cut back on spending. The revenue projections from earlier were too rosy, and we wouldn�t have as much to spend on day-to-day operations as originally thought.

Every yearly commodity order that crosses my desk comes under extra scrutiny, every purchase order turned in gets a closer look than before, and everything we can skip buying this fiscal year is to be encouraged.

Fine.

I don�t want to waste the taxpayer�s money anyway. I always look for the bargain, and I try to order just what we need.

When the plow blade order came around, I checked my inventory and decided we could get by with only a small purchase of the longest blades. We had received a double order of the carbide inserts several years back, and we have been slowly using them up. If we have a hard winter, I still had enough to cover replacing our worn blades.

Had, I said.

Seems the brain trust in London decided that we had too many of the 4 foot long inserts. Since several other areas in the district needed some of that length, they told us we had to redistribute one-half of our stock.

That will leave us with just enough blades for one change per plow this winter, with no replacements ordered for next winter.

We have to go 2 years with only one change per truck.

I don�t think so.

To top that off, he decided we could use a few more 3 foot inserts. He thought that we could use 4-3' inserts instead of 3 -4� inserts on our 12-foot long blades (you follow that?).

One problem- the 3 foot inserts have holes drilled in different spots than the 4 footers, so they don�t fit the 12 foot plows.

I tried to explain that to one individual in London. He didn�t think I was right, and he is having another storage ship us 36 of theses shorter inserts.

The only thing we use the 3 footers for is the middle spot on an 11-foot plow. Only need 1 per plow. We have 12- 11� plows. And we have a stockpile of 66 of these already.

Now we will have 112.

That is enough for 112 changes, or almost enough for 10 changes per plow we own. That will be a 5-year supply.

Some days I wonder why I even try�.


Tonight�s supper was one of those �empty out the old produce� stir-fries I throw together every so often.

Lease and Codeman had a pot of chili (I don�t do beans), so I had to make something just for just me.

I started with some leftovers from my gardens: kohlrabi, some cabbage, and my very last green pepper.

To that I added a few mushroom slices, some large green onions (as big around as your thumb!) sliced on the bias, a can of sliced baby corn (How old was that can, I wondered? Tasted fine, so food poisoning shouldn�t come my way), and a little red bell pepper.

A few shrimp from the freezer, some bottled Korean stir-fry sauce, a little Szechwan hot sauce, and a packet of buckwheat ramen noodles completed the meal.

I am quite full right now.

Ended up with some leftovers for work later this week, too���

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top