Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Dec. 06, 2002 - 8:11 p.m.

The aroma of cookies baking is in the air.... and, no more drip�drip�.drip�.

First off�the plumber came back this afternoon, and in less than an hour he had replaced the section of pipe causing the drip yesterday.

Amazing what a good night of sleep and having the right parts can do for you.

One of the cold water connections had also started to leak a little overnight. He fixed that, too.

It�s been 4 hours, and the floor is still dry around the water heater.

I�ll keep my fingers crossed, just the same�


As if I haven�t had enough goofy stuff going on around here recently, I had the pleasure of contracting a stomach bug attack after I went to bed last night.

I think it can be blamed on Micky D�s. By the time the plumber had left last night, we were in no mood to cook. We still had to pick up Lease�s baking supplies for today (more on that below), and it was already 8 pm.

Around midnight, I awoke with an urgent need to �well, let�s just say that the Big Mac wanted to get out quickly. The wrong opening, too.

When I woke up this morning, I still felt like hell. I called in sick, and I tried to take it easy today. My appetite is back, so I think I can chalk it up to a little food poisoning, courtesy of the Golden Arches.

I think today was the first �actually sick� sick day I have taken all year. I guess I could go back and check this journal�s back issues, but I can�t remember using any sick time for anything but doctors visits all year.

Oh yeah, and my �Stop choking! Stop choking!� scope job last spring.

But no days spent at home, actually sick.

Since Moses Malone retired this summer, I am now the person with the most unused �sick days� at the storage.

I don�t think anyone will question my calling in today.


Since today was day 1 of Lease�s yearly �all-day cookie and other goodies baking for the holidays� session, my upset stomach couldn�t have come at a worse time. I am usually happily stuffed in my role as the head sampler, but with a queasy stomach it wasn�t the fun it usually is for me.

I did try samples of a few of the new recipes she experimented with today. They were all good but one. It was supposed to be a caramel cookie bar, but it ended up being a cake pan full of a crumbly, granola-like mess. You couldn�t even squeeze a handful into a ball in the palm of your hand.

Something was missing from the recipe. We have both had this happen before with recipes we have downloaded from online recipe exchange sites. People submit their favorite family recipes, but forget to list all of the ingredients.

You don�t think some of these people do it on purpose, just to mess with other cooks, do you?

At least Allrecipe.com has started a review system, allowing people to rate a recipe after they make it. I have found a couple there recently that sounded good, only to read the review and see that several people found mistakes in the original posted recipe.

That should make experimenting a little more foolproof, don�t you think?


One last thing, before I go.

Today, Tony Bonehead managed to catch one of our neighborhood tree rats. The furry thief was enjoying a meal of fallen birdseed below the bird feeder, when Lease let Tony outside to do his business. The squirrel looked right at Tony, and then went back to eating. Tony has never shown an interest in any of them before, so I guess they don�t have any fear of his actions.

For some reason, this particular tree rat trigger Tony�s attack mechanism. He ran straight at the squirrel, and before it could escape he grabbed it by it�s tail and lifted it up off of the ground.

The squirrel made a shrieking noise, flailing at the air around him. This must have spooked Tony, because he let him free at this point. I don�t think he has a killer�s instinct, and was trying to play with the furry bugger. Once it protested, he let it go.

I missed all of this, but Lease watched it all happen from the back door. By the time I could get to the window, the whole episode was over. The squirrel was back at the feeder�s base just a few minutes after the dogs came back inside, so no harm was done to it.

Please don�t send me any hate mail because I think this whole exchange is both funny and heartwarming. I figure this creature was a member of the pack of rodents that ate most of my peaches last summer ( and, possibly was involved in the fruit thievery the year before, too), so I have no feelings for it at all. Watching your crop disappear can do that to a gardener.

I would have loved to capture a shot of the squirrel swinging in the air below Tony�s mug with the Fuji digital, though. I never seem to have my cameras close by when something like this happens��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top