Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2003 - 2:45 p.m.

New Years Day Amaryllis photo, plus photos of the burnt truck, and the two new retirees�

I know�I have been posting a bunch of photos here lately.

Sorry if they slow down the loading of my page, but I am a firm believer of the old saying �A picture is worth a thousand words�, so I load them up and display them for you.

With the way I write, it might be the best for all involved�


I always plant a few amaryllis bulbs every winter, hoping to have a stalk with multiple blooms putting on a show on Christmas day.

That didn�t happen this year. My timing was off on one by a full week, and the others aren�t even close yet.

The photo below is of the orange-red flowers of the one I came closest to hitting on time. It opened partially yesterday, and was in full bloom this morning when we drug ourselves out of bed. Since the blooms only last about a week, I wanted to photograph it and share it with you while it lasts:

I have one more bulb that should bloom next week, and a few more that are slowly coming along. I buy a couple new bulbs every fall. They aren�t that expensive (around $3- $4 dollars each), and bring color inside during the drab winter months. In the summer, I transplant all of my amaryllis bulbs into the garden in any small openings I have in my tomato bed. In September, I pull the bulbs, allow them to dry for a few days, and then cut the green tops off. After a little bit of storage time in the pantry, I pot them back up and hope for the best. I average about 1 out of 2 blooming at least a second year, and I have one large white flowered bulb that has bloomed for the last 3 years.

They are easy to grow, and make a great conversation piece, too. If you can grow a houseplant, you should give these plants a try next fall.


Here is one photo of the NDDOT truck that I wrote about last week. The one that was described as �engulfed in flames� by the driver.�

I shot a bunch of photos of this charred heap, and I will post them on Photogra when I get the time. I�ll link the page here, once I get it made �public�.

I used my macro zoom feature on some of the shots. If I didn�t tell you what the photos were of, you might have trouble identifying the image.

At least, that�s what I was hoping for�.


The two guys who retired yesterday�

First off, there is Tink:

I�ve written about Tink here several times before. He is the one who was a temporary lead worker, after spending 20+ years only doing one other job for the NDDOT- picking up dead animals and other trash from the roads as our �Roadrunner�.

He tells the tallest tales you would ever want to hear, and I think he even believes most of them. The best Tink-tale ever? His story about chasing Bob Hope off of his property in California for stealing his oranges.

I told him yesterday that whenever he comes up with a good one, he has to call me so I can pass it along for him. I don�t think he really wanted to leave. He doesn�t do much outside of working, and I think he will end up working somewhere else in the future�

The other person who retired yesterday was Deacon, or just plain �Deac�, as most of us called him.

I have spent a few great spring days catching fish in Deac�s boat. He left me a note on my desk yesterday, telling me to call him next spring when the crappie are biting. I will take him up on that offer.

He is a good person at heart, but he also loves to visit with the ladies. He stops by the credit union so often; they actually changed their rules on how many cash withdrawals you could make in a month.

True story. You can only make 4 cash transactions a month before they start charging you a couple of bucks for each after that. He used to make some type of money movement almost every weekday!

He is harmless. He is just a little different than most people, that�s all�.

He is barely old enough to retire and still be able to draw his pension. He has been exploring his options for a part-time job elsewhere, mainly because not working might drive him crazy.

Hopefully a job with many women working around him, so he doesn�t have to drive to his credit union every evening any more�


This might be my last entry for a few days.

The weather looks like it will be turning very bad in about 8 hours form now. It might start out as freezing rain and snow mixed, changing over too all snow with an accumulation of a couple of inches.

Or, it might just be all snow, with up to 10� possible locally.

Neither option sound like fun for me.

I�m on days this week, so I have to contend with all the extra traffic along with the messy weather.

Y�all drive carefully, please��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top