Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2003 - 5:27 p.m.

Heavy snow warning, peeing in a cup, and.... not again!

The latest forecast from the National Weather Service:

...Heavy Snow Warning Tonight Through Thursday...

Light snow is expected to develop by late this evening and increase in coverage and intensity after midnight. Snowfall amounts should reach 2 to 4 inches by the morning commute with total amounts of 5 to 7 inches possible by mid afternoon on Thursday.

Remember... a Heavy Snow Warning means severe winter weather conditions are imminent or highly likely.

Conditions can deteriorate rapidly in winter weather situations... slow down and allow extra time when traveling. Practice your winter safety rules... keep an extra flashlight... food... and water in your car in case of emergency.

This storm is supposed to be followed by high winds.

Might be busy for the next several days�..


Yes, we had the privilege of being drug tested again today.

For those who are new to my page, here is the deal:

We have to have a CDL (commercial drivers license) to work at NDDOT. As part of the conditions of keeping a CDL, you have to be subject to random drug testing. The law is a little vague, but the state adopted a random system that should only visit your storage once ever 24 months.

Should, I said.

Because we had ONE PERSON fail the test, many years ago (he likey the cracky), we seem to get far more than our share of tests. Case in point: this is our third �random� test in less than 2 years. We were tested on 9/11/01 (hard to forget that day), once last summer, and then this morning. If they get us again before 9/11/03, that would mean we are visited 4 times as often as they are supposed to.

I don�t use any illegal drugs anymore (obviously, or I wouldn�t have a job right now), but I still object to the way the system is run. I think the whole �guilty until you prove you are innocent� aspect is against everything we are raised to believe, and the fact that they target us more because our one �affirmative action lawsuit� hire failed the test is wrong, too. Add to that the fact they make us test inside of a converted cattle trailer, and you might object to the testing too.

Oh well�at least it kills most of a morning. You can�t do anything until you go through the test, so the longer you can hold your water, the longer it takes them to get the wagon out the door�..


One major side effect of the testing: everybody starts consuming large quantities of their favorite beverage, just to make sure they will be able to pee on command. I, for one, don�t have much trouble with giving them what they need. The only problem is they always show up right at starting time. I always go to the bathroom right before I leave for work, meaning my bladder is empty when I walk in the door.

To make up for this, I usually drink at least 3-4 large glasses of water in about 30 minutes to refill the tank. I then give them their 6 ounces, and urinate out whatever else is ready when I am in the trailer.

Then, I spend the rest of the morning going in and out of the men�s room. So does about everybody else, too.

Like I said, not much work get done until the afternoon rolls around whenever they stop by for a drug test�.


Codeman called me too many times at work today. First, his counselor had screwed up his schedule, not giving him enough �credit classes� for him to play sports. He could have doubled up his classes in the first semester and graduated mid-year. Baseball and prom are two of the main reasons why he didn�t, and one might not be available now.

The woman who is his counselor is a very nice person, but seems lost whenever you need her help. I had to call her and explain what was wrong (bowling doesn�t count, according to the NDHSA). She told me she didn�t know that! Never had heard of that one before!

Hum��.

After a little prodding, she was moved to change bowling to video production. He can still play baseball, and I get the $70 back I just paid for the bowling class.

I might need that money, because the next call Codeman gave me was to tell me his car is still leaking oil. Spots the size of half-dollars, he said.

Just great!

I don�t think there is anything else we can do. There isn�t a gasket available for the oil pan. They put a nice, clean seal on it yesterday. I am not buying another oil pan (the mechanic said it had a little �rippling� on one side), because it is too late to take it back to the dealer.

He will just have to carry oil with him, and check it every day. Until baseball is over, he won�t be working more than 6-10 hours a week, so he won�t have the money for car payments. I am not paying his payments, as long as the old car is still alive. And it will be, if he keeps his eye on any oil loss.

I don�t need this hassle again, with the weather about to turn gnarly�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top