Today's music?

Arcangels - "Arcangles" (1992- Geffen Records) part of Stevie Ray Vaughns band, plus Charlie Sexton = Texas blues-rock!



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Apr. 08, 2003 - 8:36 p.m.

I swear, sometimes it seems like we are stuck in the 3rd grade, and Beavis is our anal-retentive teacher�

First, a quick aside- 2 people dropped me from their favorites list today. I imagine this might have something to do with my writing about war-related issues the past few days.

To them, I have only one thing to say�. �Bye bye!�

If what I have written bothers you, send me a email and tell me so, or tell me I�m wrong in my guestbook I can take it. I am 42 years old. I am sure I am not pro- or anti- war enough for most, but that�s fine. This is MY �JOURNAL�, and I write what I am thinking (at any given time) in here.

At least a few of you have the decency to write and tell me what you think, instead of just dropping me from their lists��


And now�more boring stuff from my daily life!

War news-free!

Today, at least!


The state sent out a memo last week after the new director pulled up to a crew that was goofing off instead of working. One of the points the memo made was that NDDOT workers are NOT to be reading (newspapers or otherwise) unless it is during their own time. �Their own time� being defined as the two 15 minute break periods, and the half-hour we get for lunch.

No problem there.

You shouldn�t be reading when you are driving down the road, nor if you are in the road filling potholes.

Everyone can live with that, right?

Today, Beavis pulled up to one of our drivers at 10 am, 15 minutes after our regular break time. The driver was reading the paper, hidden from the public view on his lap.

Beavis told the driver that he was breaking the new guidelines. He then took the paper from the driver. He told him he could have it back at quitting time!

One big problem with this situation � the driver had been following the bridge crew, driving an attenuator. The crew had worked through break time (common practice for this crew, as they finish whatever they are doing and always take late breaks). They were just starting their 15 minutes when Beavis showed up.

The driver tried to explain this to Beavis, but he didn�t want to hear the facts. He could have walked up to the bridge crew truck and asked them, but he didn�t.

I have to give the driver credit. I wouldn�t have given my paper to him. I think I would have told him to write me up, and then let the Teamsters rip him a new asshole. The B.A. for our union doesn�t like Beavis, and would have had a field day defending the employee on this one.

That wasn�t the end of it � we had a meeting in the break room at 3:55.

Beavis asked us (in his best syrupy, grade school teacher voice), �Does everybody understand the rules on newspapers? Does anyone have a problem understanding these rules? If not, I would be glad to explain them to you again!�

And he wonders why nobody shows him any respect�.


Whitey had the best definition of this anally man, years ago.

He always said:

�If the NDDOT sent Beavis a memo today, saying that he was to report to mile marker 243 on Interstate 86 tomorrow morning at 8 am, and he was to drop his pants and take a bowel movement at said mile marker, his only question would be �How big should the pile be?�

Sorry if that image is now stuck in your subconscious�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top