Today's music?

Chalk FarM - "Notwithstanding (1996- Columbia Records) ...Some "Adult Alternative Rock"



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Jun. 24, 2003 - 7:53 p.m.

It�s too damn hot for deep thoughts, so I will just wander around inside of my mind for a little bit instead�

The high didn�t reach 96�, as forecasted yesterday.

No, it only made it up to 92�.

Big difference, I guess.

The weather guy on the news said the pavement temperature reach 125� this afternoon.

You know what that means, right?

Blowup season is on its way. Time for the concrete to explode, due to water underneath reaching the boiling point, deteriorating pavement surface weakening and giving way.

It is also time to let the answering machine pick up all of my calls. I don�t mind working, no matter how cold it gets, in the winter months. But my body shuts down in extreme heat. It ahs ever since I was a small boy. I can remember passing out from the heat on baseball diamonds and on playgrounds several times back then, and I became very sick on a day that included 7 different blowups over a 5 hour period about 4 years ago, too (yeah, I know- big puss). All 5 of us stuck on that detail became lightheaded and dizzy, or tossed out cookies on that 102� day. That was when I decided never again would I raise my hand and say, �pick me!� when the concrete starts flying.

Let me put it this way- if there is an emergency, and nobody else can be reached, I will help clean up a pavement breakage.

But that isn�t going to happen. They have had two callouts so far this summer, both on Sundays (double time), and they haven�t had to call anyone that wasn�t signed up for summer overtime.

I�m glad that there are now so many guys at work who want the money so badly, that�s all��


A link for you:

This 3-year old has to be seen to be belived!

Thanks to Kstyle, for sending me the link in the first place�.


Black raspberry update:

I picked 13 cups of large, succulent ripe fruit after work tonight. I would have picked more, but three things cut my picking short:

1. I had to meet Codeman at Rick�s Garage at 4:30, or walk home. I didn�t want to walk on 125� sidewalks for 3 miles.

2. I was sidetracked on my way to the berry thicket by a sign that said, �Fireworks for Sale!�. I am a sucker for fireworks, especially when I don�t have to cross state lines to buy them. I left with two paper grocery bags full, along with $100 less in my checking account.

3. I was running a little low on blood. I sprayed myself with more Deep Woods Off� than a human being should use in a summer, but the mosquitoes there were the size of sparrows, and they managed to fight through the fog and tap into my bloodstream in several spots.

I read last week that if you lived through last summer here in Mohall without getting the West Nile virus from an infected mosquito, you aren�t likely to catch it this summer. Most everyone who spends any time outside was bitten by an infected bug last summer (most cases in the nation in our home state of North Dakota), so if we were gonna catch it we would have already.

Doesn�t take away any of the itching these beasts cause, but at least they shouldn�t kill me�.


Anyone catch the photo in the newspaper of the handshake at the net after the tennis match between Ivo Karlovic, at 6�10� the tallest player in the history of Wimbledon, and last year�s winner, Lleyton Hewitt? What a study in contrasts! The photo was an AP pool shot- it was in the Chicago Trib this morning, but I tossed my copy out at work, and couldn�t find the photo on the web anywhere tonight.

Hewitt looked no bigger than a junior high school pupil standing next to Karlovic. Considering Hewitt was the defending champion, being knocked out in the first round by Karlovic is a major upset.

When you add into the mix the fact that the 6�10� Karlovic thought he was there for today�s NBA draft, and you really have a story �.(credit to Jeff Rabinowitz, in today�s Top Five� list, for the NBA joke- I wish I had thought of that one myself�)


I�m off to edit photos.

Wish me luck��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top