Today's music?

The Records - "Smashes, Crashes,and Near Misses- The Best of The Records" (1988 Virgin Records) Who? A great British powe



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Jun. 27, 2003 - 5:37 p.m.

Opps���

Before I made another run to Springpatch this morning (a paint store has our contract there, and didn�t have our order ready for my trip to the State garage yesterday), I decided I would go over my expenditure sheets one more time. I wanted to make sure that we hadn�t listed a bill twice, or that I hadn�t made a calculation mistake anywhere.

I had, unfortunately.

When I purchase something this time of the year, I have to post it on the computer whether or not I receive it that day. This is to make sure I don�t spend money I don�t have, and to make sure I spend all that we have( click here, if you missed my explanation of this bizarre system here yesterday).

Well, I did that and more.

Like $1567.00 worth.

How, you might ask?

About 6 weeks ago, I ordered a set of 8 tires for our lowboy heavy trailer. Small, but 12-ply, super heavy-duty tires. They set the state back that $1567 I mentioned above.

Where I made my mistake was in not posting a �dummy�. That is what we call an entry without any paperwork to back it up. I have posted something like $20,000 worth of these �dummies� in the past 8 weeks.

I just didn�t put the one in for the trailer tires.

If I had caught this mistake even 3 days ago, it wouldn�t have been a problem. I still had over $4000 in my truck account.

But that was 3 days ago. On Tuesday, I spent all of the money I had left in my account for truck parts. I spent the money at the state garage, too. But they had no way to know I was out of money. Only I could know what I had to spend.

When I picked up my new order at the garage yesterday, I signed the receipt and headed home.

It wasn�t until this morning that I noticed the charge for the tires on the bill (the total for the bill was over $6000). I checked on the computer, and quickly discovered my mistake.

Nobody seemed to upset about my fuckup. The woman in London in charge of purchasing even told me she would find the money for me from what other counties hadn�t already spent.

It still made me look bad, in my opinion. I have done what I could to stay within budget ever since I took over the toolroom job. I don�t waste money if I can avoid it in any way possible.

We needed the tires badly. The tires on the trailer weren�t worn out, tread-wise, but were over 12 years old. The sidewalls are cracked, and could blow out at any time. Not something you want to have happen at 55 mph with an excavator mounted on the trailer.

Anyway�.looks like my fuckup will be fixed by Monday. I am just glad I figured the mistake out BEFORE the final budget was turned in on Tuesday.

All I can say is I am glad it is Friday. I am ready to avoid budget matters for the next 48 hours��


All I can say about the Supreme Court ruling yesterday (making sodomy laws unconstitutional) is this: it�s about time.

I bet most people didn�t even know that there were laws against sodomy in so many states here in the year 2003, and even less knew that the laws applied to male-female oral/anal sex in many of those same states, too.

I know this country was founded by the Puritans, but isn�t it about time that the anal-retentive, anti-sex laws they passed back then were off the books?

I�ll step back down off of my soapbox now��


One photo for Friday;

Gus seems to be occupied with his cake, and Sam looks like he is ready for a nap.

Wonder what my niece Shel is thinking in this photo? Any thoughts?Let me know what you think here��


No real plans for the weekend here at casa Roadiepig. I might get to try some of the Cheery Bomb ale that my bud Zackal brewed recently, if he decides to stop by one of these nights. I have toyed with the idea of taking the long drive to Chi-town to take in the Taste of Chicago street music festival/ food pig out, but nobody else seems too keen on the idea. Unfortunately for our household, all of the major music acts this weekend are country performers(next week, the performers include Elvis Costello and the Imposters, Sheryl Crow, Pete Yorn , and the Wallflowers .None of my favorites, but free is free)

Lease is game to go, but nobody else, family-wise, seems to want to make the trip for a one-day stay.

It really doesn�t matter what we do this weekend. It won�t involve being at work for either of us.

Have a great summer weekend, all����..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top