Today's music?

Chance the Gardener - "The Day the Dogs Took Over" (1996- Warner Brothers Records) Pretty cool roots-rock (think Wilco)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Aug. 22, 2003 - 9:34 p.m.

All of us are covered with tiny welts�..plus- is it a walk or a drag?�and a couple of baby photos (well, as close as Lease and I will come to having a baby anytime soon)

Even thought we haven�t had any real rain here for over three weeks (ran the hoses to my two gardens today, it has been so dry), that hasn�t stopped the mosquitoes from hatching out in record numbers, making life miserable here at Casa Roadiepig.

I swear, the three boys and I were only outside for about 15 minutes this evening (early, too- about 6 pm), and these disease-carrying pests were eating us all up.

Remember those old Off� commercials from the 70�s, where they had some schlep stick his untreated arm inside of a plastic box filled with �hungry mosquitoes�? The treated arm only had one or two �hungry mosquitoes� snacking on it, but the untreated arm was totally covered?

The untreated arm was how all 4 of us looked.

I can�t put the Revolution� all-in-one flea and mosquito repellant on Jay until Saturday evening because he had a dip and bath at the clinic Thursday. Something about letting his body produce natural oils before applying the drops. My sister found a way to make it make sense to me, so that�s what we have to wait on until we can sit on the patio in the evening.

Tonight, it was about 15� cooler than it was at the same time yesterday. There are only a few more weeks of nice weather here in North Dakota before things turn to shit again, so we hate to miss any outside enjoyment time until then.

Tomorrow then�.


Still haven�t gotten Jay used to walking on a leash.

Yes, I could take him to obedience training in a few months, and break him to behave the way he should.

But I never took too well to obedience training myself, so I won�t put him through it, either.

Every time I slip a leash onto his collar, he flattens himself to the ground. He has to be drug around this way, and he never seems to get used to the connection (yes, I know it has been only two weeks.)

I had a brainstorm tonight- Tony LOVES to go for a walk on a leash. Why not take them both at the same time?

Simple- Tony tugs my arm out of socket to pull me forward, and Jay does everything he can to avoid walking one step forward.

We only made it completely around the block one time. The whole trip, Tony was pulling as hard as he could to make me go forward, and Jay was being tugged forward against his will the entire way. I had total tension against my arm from both directions.

By the time we made it back to the house, the two dogs were almost in sync (no, not the �boy� band- they were walking close together).

I guess there is hope for Jay yet�


Since it is Friday night, and nobody wants to spend much time reading about what is happening here anyway, I�ll leave you with a couple of photos from today:

Jay doesn�t mind having his photo taken, even if I use a flash. Red eye from Hell, but you can still see his smile�


Tony, on the other hand, hates cameras. He really hates flash photos. The only way I can take more than one shot of Bonehead inside the house is to turn the flash off, and hope he sits still long enough to get a decent frame. Don't happen often, though....

This photo is blurred, but it does a decent job of showing the two young pups, playing (roughhousing, actually) in the living room tonight. This is probably the best photo of about 40 I snapped in a very short time�


This should have been the first day of our summer vacation. We decided to move it back to late September. Codeman has college either way, and we are thinking about heading south (way south, actually- Memphis, Tennessee maybe?) since it will be cooler around that time.

The only bad thing is convincing my body that I have to wait another month until it can go into �rest and relaxation� mode.

Might have to kick back and take it easy all weekend, just to make up for letting my mind and body down���

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top