Today's music?

Chance the Gardener - "The Day the Dogs Took Over" (1996- Warner Brothers Records) Pretty cool roots-rock (think Wilco)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Sept. 03, 2003 - 8:24 p.m.

A little about little to nothing of importance�..

Anyone ever notice the box below the �Give them a Brake� sign, on the left hand side of my �journal�?

I guess not, because nobody has made any comments about it, but�

This is the �Current Enhanced Terror Alert color� box, from Subintsoc.net (click here, if you want one of your own)

Basically, it�s just a joke, playing on the (what I have said since day one of its existence) stupid terror alert color scale from our Federal government.

Didn�t like the real one when it came out. Will it ever be green (for low)? Nope.

How about Red (for severe)? If it does, we won�t hear about it. Nuclear war might be the cause, so alert systems won�t be of much use (or accessible) anyway.

So that means we will spend the next few years with blue (not yet, thought), yellow, and orange.

Barely beyond primary colors, those are.

That�s why I added the Enhanced version. Some of the colors are matched perfectly with their threat conditions (Olive�s threat condition is �drab�, for one).

The people who made this thing up have added several new colors and threats in the past few days. Some of them crack me up.

My favorite?

Chartreuse.

Not only is it my favorite color for crappie lures, it has a perfect �threat condition� attached to it.

Queasy.

If you reload my page with the threat box on the screen, you can see the different colors and threats.

Don�t do it to boost my stats, btw. My stats will still be sad, even if you do reload multiple times to check out all of the different colors�..


The one very bad thing about growing a garden, and getting 7+ inches of rain in just a few days?

My tomatoes are almost all splitting along the sides, making any near-ripe fruit rot quickly.

I have this problem with my cherry tomatoes with almost any heavy (1� or more) rain. But the soaking we had, after almost a month without rain (just garden hose watering) has really messed up my large fruit, too.

I picked a bucket almost full of fruit tonight, even though a bunch of them won�t be totally ripe until the weekend. If I store them in the basement, that might delay the formation of mold.

As it is, many of them will be wasted anyway. It�s not like I need to make anything else out of them, but I hate to waste them.

And Lease�s cherries?

I couldn�t even get enough solid tomatoes for her lunch tomorrow. I pulled all of the split (and already rotting) small fruit from the plants tonight, hoping the plants will produce another crop more quickly�..


Jay the Puppy decided to chew up my rain gauge this afternoon. Codeman left him outside for about 20 minutes, and when he opened the back door, the remains of this plastic tube were scattered all over the patio.

Thankfully, it was plastic and not glass. If he swallowed any of the small pieces, he should be able to pass them safely. It�s doubtful that he did, because the thrill is in the kill for Jay. He tears all kinds of things apart, but I haven�t seen him eat any of them yet.

This thing had seen better days anyway. It was cracked along the top, and was in need of replacement anyway.

Next one I but will be mounted on the back fence. That should keep it out of Jay�s reach��


The raccoons found my melons at work.

Just like they always do, about the time they become ripe.

I had about 10 decent (but small) cantaloupes when I went home for the weekend Friday.

I didn�t check the garden yesterday (too busy), but did before work this morning.

I now had 5 piles of seeds and skins, one nice melon with a hole the size of a half-dollar in it, and 4 untouched ripe melons (those went home with me tonight).

The one with the hole was salvageable (something must have spooked the �coon, or he was just too full to eat it), and after cutting out the area around the hole I had a plate full of slices. The guys at work ate them tonight, when they came in off of the road.

Did I tell them that they were eating raccoon leftovers?

No.

Hey, I ate a slice too. And it was very sweet and tasty.

Am I mad at the raccoons?

No. At least they left me half of my crop. That�s a lot more than the tree rats give me from my peach trees.

Just another example of my gardens feeding more than just the human species, I guess��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top