Today's music?

Verbena - "La Music Negra" (2003- Capitol Records)...Great hard alt-rock (similar to The Toadies)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Sept. 18, 2003 - 7:56 p.m.

A fight to the (near) death�plus- what happens when I play around with my Photo Impressions 4� program a little too much�

I spent a little time after work this evening doing small tasks around the yard. It should come as no surprise to you that, for the most part, my gardens have gone wild in the last month to six weeks.

There is no way I can keep everything in top shape, and still have the time and energy it takes to process and can all of the things I did this summer. The weeds have taken over some areas, and in others the desired plants are either sickly or dead. It is mid-September, so dieing back is normal for the home gardener around here. The farmers are harvesting soybeans right now (their moisture level is perfect for market, according to Sef, my part-time farmer coworker), and their corn is turning brown rapidly.

So if part of my garden looks pathetic, I can just blame it on the changing seasons, right?


Anyway- while I was in the front yard, I pulled a few weed grasses from the front prairie patch. Sometimes it�s hard to tell the difference from the native grasses and the weeds, but I try my best.

I had a handful of debris, and was headed to the compost bin when two sparrows, attached to each other in mortal combat, fell to the ground less than a foot from me with a audible �splat!� They lay there, stunned, for a few seconds, and then each flew away in different directions.

I have no idea how high up they were when this battle began, but they appeared to have fallen from much higher than the top branches of the tree in the front yard. Each were so involved in trying to �off� the other bird (males, my guess- always fighting over something, aren�t we?), they had no idea that they were in freefall.

I have read about falcons doing this. Seems they become involved in aerial battles with other males, and sometimes don�t remove their talons from their rivals until it is too late. They sometimes hit the ground at high speeds, killing both raptors from the impact.

Serious about their battles, I guess.

I never thought that the lowly sparrow engaged in this same behavior.

Not until tonight, that is�.


Just not feeling the muse tonight. Haven�t had it much lately.

I think it has something to do with really needing a vacation.

I�ll leave you with a photo of�.what?

You tell me:

No, this isn't the album cover from the long-missing 4th Iron Butterfly album, "Green Swirly Thing"

All I will say is it involved many separate steps , playing around with the photo editing program that came with my scanner (Photo Impressions 4�).

Later��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top