Today's music?

The Darkness - "Permission to Land" (2003- Atlantic Records)..can't decide if these "Metal" guys are spoofing, or are f



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Nov. 06, 2003 - 5:58 p.m.

A Hunka Hunka Burning love, laying our new shingles? �plus- a photo that �speaks� for itself�

Since were are a branch of the government (State of North Dakota, for those not keeping track), whenever we need to have a major building repair at the storage we have to get three bids before hiring a contractor.

This rule came up recently. Our salt dome has sprung a major leak (can you spring a leak on a roof?) over the main entrance, and water had been pouring down upon our salt stockpile. Since this was a job for a professional (replacing plywood, re-flashing the joint, etc.), I called the required three vendors on Monday.

Two of the contractors came that day. Both promised me estimates that day . Haven�t gotten a thing from either as I write this.

The third bidder didn�t show up until today. He arrived at lunchtime, and walked into the breakroom while we were still eating.

One look at this guy, and I had to hold back laughing out loud at his appearance. It wasn�t the clothes he was wearing that caused this reaction. He was dressed like any other hard-workin� 50+ year old country boy.

No, what cracked me up was his hair. He had the absolute worst black die job I have ever seen. His hair was cut in what looked like someone had slipped a mixing bowl over his head, used to make a perfect circle haircut.

And his sideburns? Long (what used to be called )Mutton chops, also stained with the very black die.

I have never seen an adult male with this much die applied to his follicles. Nor with so much hair, for his age.

When he �left the building�, one of the guys at the round table said, �Elvis has left the building�. This caused us all to break into fits of laughter.

He really did look like a poor-man�s Elvis, except for the floppy haircut. No ducktail for him.

He returned to the office about a half hour later, and handed me his estimate (very high) and his business card.

He then told me ,�Roofing is just my hobby. This is my real job� as he handed me another business card:

Yup- he actually is an Elvis impersonator. Or at least thinks he is (I didn�t ask him so sing a few bars of �Love Me Tender�)

As he turned to leave, I said to him �Thank You. But I won�t say �Thank you. Thank you very much�, doing my lame impression of the King.

He turned towards me, struck a stereotypical Elvis pose, pointed his finger at me and said,� Thank you very much� to me.

This caused all of the guys standing in the bay to bust out loud. And it didn�t bother him one bit- he gave us a stage bow, and walked out the door (exit stage right?)

No, he really didn�t sound much like Elvis.

But at least he has a sense of humor about his �job��..


Back in August, Moose (the shop mechanic in the county to our east, and my white bass slaying partner from a fishing trip to B.A.C.E. Lake last summer) and San-D (our winter tech, and a friend of Moose) drove all the way to Indianapolis to watch the Brickyard 500. That�s the big NASCAR stockcar race held their every summer, for those who don�t follow these things.

Yesterday, Moose was at our storage to help with the truck inspection, and he gave me a photo he took at the race. He told me to post it on the bulletin board at work (I have a ton of photos stapled there).

Today he called, asking about some truck parts, and he asked me to do him a little favor:

He thought y�all might find this photo interesting. I think the labels explain the photo pretty well, don�t you San-D?


The one question I have is about the man in blue, located in front of San-D.

You think he was that trashed, this early in the race? Or just bummed that Gordon wasn�t in first place at the time��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top