Today's music?

eve to adam - "Auburn Slip" (2001 Mikendra Records ) Hard, heavy- good stuff that slipped throught he cracks....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Jan. 20, 2004 - 7:48 p.m.

In what state is YOUR union? My answer to that question, plus- another photo from yesterday�

Posted a long entry yesterday, so I will make this one short�.


The fine folks who ran the only Mexican foods grocery store within 60 miles of here shut their doors for good sometime in the last week or so.

This sucks immensely for our household.

No more fresh farmer�s cheese for melting in our Quesadillas. No more authentic tortillas or chorizo to spice up our meals.

Not unless I drive to Collegetown, that is.

Too bad they couldn�t make a go of it. Must not be as many people looking for authentic ingredients for their Mexican meals as they hoped for here in Mohall.

We will miss the convenience of their small market, that�s for sure�.


The question in this entry�s title? What�s the state of YOUR union?

Well, if your union is the same as mine (Teamsters), it�s in a pretty sad state today.

First off, they told the members of the union that they should back Dick Gephardt in the primary elections. The last issue of Teamster Magazine had him on the front page, and they formally endorsed him for president inside.

Opps!

He didn�t even make it to a real primary election, getting sent home to St. Louis in 4th place in last night�s Iowa caucuses. At least he realizes he has no shot, and withdrew from the race today.

BTW- Am I the only person out there that thinks that the 30th most populous state has become way too important in deciding who will run for president? The candidates, wallowing in rubber knee boots in pens full of pig crap for the last twelve months to convince farmer Brown that he is �one of them�?

What a joke, unless you live in Des Moines�


Secondly (talking about my union, that is)- they tell my union brothers and myself to vote for Little Big Man in the last election (I didn�t listen to them). Then, when Little Big Man wins, he hires a new head for the transportation department who immediately attacks the workers as lazy, and institutes a �call up and rat on a highway worker� hotline.

Now, with contract negotiations underway, he publicly states that we are not going to get a raise (this is a 3-year contract!), our share of benefit costs will rise, and that we will have to pay the share of our retirement that the state used to pick up.

Damn good governor for our union members, wouldn�t you say?


Enough rambling.

This caught my eye on my drive up to N.P.P. Lake yesterday. I stopped on my drive home to take photos of what I saw:

Yes, I jacked the color saturation up a little. I liked the way it brought out the black of the skid marks from the dark gray of the pavement�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top