Today's music?

Alexandra Slate - "Edge of a Girl" (2003- Hollywood Records)...a talented, young Canadian girl doing real rock (this one keeps



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2004 - 8:38 p.m.

Random thoughts entry (nothing important, in other words)

Watching the news tonight, I saw something that was unintentionally funny.

The reporter was doing a voiceover on a film showing an astronaut taking big strides, walking on the surface of the moon (Alan Bean maybe?). The report was on the recent announcement by the Pres of his desire to restart the space missions to the moon and maybe Mars, and what the political ramifications would be for him in this election year.

Nothing funny about that, right?

How about the following words appearing on the screen over the film footage:

File footage.

No! Really? It�s not brand new footage?

Were they convinced that if they didn�t post those two words, most of America would think it was shot this morning?

How dumb do the press think we are in this country?

I guess I don�t need to ask that, do I?

Dumb enough for them to feel the need to post that disclaimer, I guess�.


Have I asked enough questions for one entry?

Yes, I think I have�


I have been listening to a bunch of new cds for the past few weeks, and I have to say there was some really good music released last year that flew in under the radar.

Probably most of it was missed because most music �consumers� only download the top acts with their computers. All you have to do is look at how small the cd section is at the local Best Buy or Circuit City compared to even a few years ago to see how hard this industry has been hit.

I went through a period of time where I downloaded some music from Kazaa , but mostly just albums that I already owned on one of the obsolete (or nearly obsolete-cassettes) formats. The band had already made money from me in the past, so I didn�t mind getting a cleaner, cd-quality copy of something I already owned.

Somewhere along the time the jackoffs at the RIAA started filing expensive lawsuits against 12-year-old Outkast file downloaders, I decided it wasn�t worth the hassle anymore. I have always bought plenty of new music, so I just stick to buying what I am interested in hearing nowadays.

Not at full price for each and every cd, mind you. Not for stuff I know little about. For groups and individuals that I like, I will still buy a brand new copy of their work at a record store or on the Internet. If you don�t support any musicians at all, less new and original music will come out.

That�s what I feel, anyway.

Back to the point I was trying to make: I bought a bunch of low priced cds from a couple of sellers at Half.com back in December. None of the cds cost over $4, many were only $1 or $2, and all were released in 2003. For those prices, I will take a chance on a musician I haven�t head about. Some of my favorite cds from the past 4 or 5 years were bought this way.

Some broke big after I had picked up a bargain copy of their cd (The Darkness recently, and The White Stripes, The Strokes, and Hoobastank in recent years to name a few), others just never found an audience (but I loved their album anyway- too many to list).

Anyway��

I have had the following in heavy rotation for some time now, and since I don�t bore you with my god-awful music reviews anymore, I thought I would list them here as �highly recommended�, in case you are looking for something new�

Jet- �Permission to Land��the band responsible for the rockin� song on the Ipod commercials (�..four five six/ come on and get your kicks/ now you don�t need money with a face like that/ do you , honey?� which is cut 2-�Are You Gonna Be My Girl?�), this whole album is retro 70�s rock heaven.

Also worth a listen:

Alexandra Slate- �Edge of a Girl�

The Star Spangles � �Bazooka!�

Ten Benson � �Benson Burner�

(Can you tell nothing much happened worth writing about today? Not that this is different from most days, but�..)


I think I have wasted about enough of your time for today.

Later, �all��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top