Today's music?

The Darkness - "Permission to Land" (2003- Atlantic Records)..FINALLY- getting some good press in Americ-check them out, if yo



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Feb. 12, 2004 - 5:32 p.m.

An �unnecessary� holiday off, but I put it to good use�..

A quick side note- when I came home from my haircut a few minutes ago, there was one of the neighborhood stray cats sitting in the middle of my sidewalk, tossing his cookies.

I don�t know for sure what this is a sign of, but it can�t be anything good. Plus, I had to clean it up too.


Yes, the employees of the state of North Dakota get both Lincoln�s birthday AND President�s Day off.

A reporter in the local newspaper last Saturday said that that is double dipping, and that we shouldn�t get any holidays but the 5 that most everyone else in the USA receive each year.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that he is a FORMER state of North Dakota employee, and somehow �lost� his cushy job when the new administration took over last year.

Could he be a little ticked off about NOT having the day off?

Could be�.


I woke up around my usual time to find Jay-dog chewing on the corner of the comforter on our bed. He had managed to eat a circle about the size of a quarter out of the cover.

This is the third time he has pulled this stunt. I know he knows he isn�t supposed to do this (one of the few times I have disciplined the puppy (smacked his rump, in other words) was when he did this in the past), but he slips anyway. As soon as I got up and yelled �NO!� at him, he shot off of the bed and into his cage. Lease got him out and took him outside while I got dressed.

For the rest of the day, he has been acting very remorseful over what he did.

If dogs can be remorseful�.


The weather was crummy today, so I decided to skip the trip to N.P.P. Lake.

Instead, I caught up on a bunch of small jobs around the house.

Yes, I tried to fix the wholes in the comforter. I can actually use a needle and thread. Picked that skill up in Boy Scouts years ago.

I didn�t say I do a neat job of it, but at least the filling should stay inside until he outgrows this bad habit and we can buy a new one.

Having received all of my seed orders, I sorted out all of the new packages and combined them with my leftovers from the past. Since it is the second week of February, it was time for me to start a few early crops. I have enough room on top pf my 30-gallon aquarium light for 18 bathroom Dixie Cups�, and there are now 17 sitting there, loosely covered with plastic wrap.

They include broccoli (4), cabbage (5), cauliflower (3), rhubarb (1), parsley (1), cutting celery (2), and bush tomato (1).

All will be ready to put into the ground at the proper time. All except the tomato plants- these are for my dad (who lives in a apartment now) and myself, and are to be planted into 5-gallon buckets way before the frost-free date. That way, they can be outside on warm days, and inside if there is any chance of a frost. They should produce ripe tomatoes by mid-May or earlier, beating the in-ground crop by 6 weeks or so.

Worth the extra work, I think�..


I also melted lead and poured a couple hundred jigs. This will come in handy this spring and summer when I need more and don�t have the time to make them.

They still need painted, but that can be done any time in the near future.

One more job- I pulled all of the old nails out of the walls in the �den�. This room is the side porch that the former owner converted into his �trophy and plaque� room. He was a high school sports coach for about 25 years, and had plenty of hardware to display.

We haven�t really used this room for much of anything. It is too small for anything practical, and is too cold during the winter for much of anything anyway. There is only one small window lighting this space, too.

I have my fluorescent lights in there for my bedding plants. The cooler environment is good for growing the plants, keeping them from bolting too quickly.

I also store my music collection in there. I took down all but one of my cassette holders (each held 80 single cassettes, and I used to have 5 on the wall) last week. I figure it is time to face the fact that I will never go back to that format again, having most every one of the albums also on cd already. I left one holder up to hold Lease�s favorites (her car still has a cassette player only in it), plus a few titles that I only possess on tape.

I boxed the obsolete format up (I counted a total of 547, many having two different albums on them), and hauled the heavy boxes to the basement.

Where they will probably grow mold before they ever hit a tape deck in the future.

Anyway�..

I also pulled all of the nails out of the wall from where his plaques were displayed.

38 of them, to be exact.

I then had to fill each of these holes, along with the bigger ones from the screws that held the old cassette racks. I used instant plaster filler, mixed in a paper cup and smeared into each hole with my index finger.

Time consuming, boring work.

But when Lease and I get the time, we plan on rearranging this room. When we do, two frames filled with the Mohall postcards I have picked up over the years will be somewhere on these walls. Along with the cd award framed plaque I won on eBay last December, and a few of my favorite old photographs.

Who knows- after we get finished, maybe we will finally claim that room as part of the house��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top