Today's music?

Secret Machines - "Now Here is Nowhere" (2004 - Reprise Records)...favorite new band this year-think Pink Floyd, with John Bon



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Sept. 03, 2004 - 11:16 p.m.

Yes, I am still alive- just not here at D-land lately, that�s all�

Top 5 reasons why I haven�t updated here much lately:

1.Those damn Olympics. How could I pull myself away from the telly when there was an exciting team handball match between Bulgaria and North Korea to watch? Let alone the tight bodies of the babes playing beach volleyball/

2.The continuing abundant harvest, and processing (by canning, for those not here anytime in the past 3+ years) of said harvest keeps me worn out and busy far too much this time of year.

3.Trying to finalize Lease and my vacation plans. The cabin in the Great Smoky Mountains has been finalized for over a month. What to do for the other 3-4 days that we can spend out of town has been the problem. I thought I had a couple of cities within an hour or so lined up for the rest of the trip (and at much lower costs than the cabin). One problem- the University of Tennessee (Knoxville) is home that weekend (no rooms available for less than TRIPLE THE NORMAL RATES, because they can GET IT!), and so are the Tennessee Titans NFL team (Nashville hasn�t been on our �to do� list anyway). After a bunch of Internet surfing, trying Orbitz, Lodging.com, Hotwire, and other sites, I was finally able to secure a great price on a suite at a Ramada Inn through their own web site at less than any other location.

BTW- anyone have any ideas how we can enjoy 3 days in Nashville without being exposed to country/western music, I would appreciate your advice. Otherwise? I will just spend the next week or so looking for ideas here on the �web.

4. Watching non-stop coverage of the HURRICANE OF ALL RECORDED HISTORY hitting the coast of Florida AM I the ONLY ONE who gets tired of all the hyperbole related to each and every hurricane before it even does any damage on the mainland? Francis has been about as potent as the private in the classic Bill Murray movie �Stripe� (�Touch my stuff, and I�ll kill ya!�)

5. Finally (and I mean �FINALLY!) getting caught up with my photographs. I burned a disc with 98 photos (yes-98 photos!) that I had taken, edited, and liked, since the beginning of summer. I took this to the local Walgreens drug store, and had them print me up 89 4�x6� and 9 8�x10� print this morning. About � of these prints will end up in friends and families hands. The rest are for our albums, and for displacing in frames on the entertainment center and on the wall of the side porch/media room.

We need to pick up a few frames this weekend�


Today?

We went to a small town festival (�Cheese Fest�- and it wasn�t in Wisconsin!). The added benefit to us was the location of this festival- it was near both the best outlet mall near Mohall, and also close to my favorite grocery salvage store (their name, not mine, for their store).

We didn�t spend much at the salvage store (a bulk container of fruit pectin for whatever jam I make in the next year or so, along with 3 cases of diet Squirt soda, unavailable here in Mohall, and a few other odd things I didn�t know I needed before I entered the place).

We did drop a little bit more at the outlet stores. Codeman needed work jeans, and we bought him three pairs of Lee and Wranglers for less than $50. I also bought a replacement canning pot (black crackle finish) for less than $20 at the Revere store, along with 10 new dinner plates at the Corelle store (called �blue caf�, they are simple but nice). These, and a few other odds and ends for less than we could have bought them in Mohall.

Oh yeah- and some bulk cheese at the festival.

They were having a cheese-eating contest involving small children about the time that we walked up to the site of the festival. I snapped a bunch of quick shots of the poor (soon to be bound up) kids as they tried to consume huge blocks of Colby for some minor award.

I don�t have signed releases from any of their parents, so don�t tell them their photos ended up on this page, ok?

This boy was doing the best he could, but was far too small to compete against the other (much larger) contestants.

He reminded me of the boy from the movie �Jerry Maguire�, so I shot his photograph.

This one shows how much fun (ha! In some sadistic kind of way, I guess) these children were having:

The boy on the right was trying to shove just a few more curds into his mouth as the time expired. The girl on the left? She was doing everything she could to keep all of the cheese �down�, if you know what I mean.

I had another shot or two of her, after she lost this battle.

I couldn�t post it here, in the small chance that she might stumble across it years from now down the road.

She will have a hard enough time living this down her bout of projectile vomiting with her group of friends in this small town as it is�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top