Today's music?

The Format - "Interventions and Lullabyes" (2003- Elektra Records)...good, all-American pop-rock



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Sept. 05, 2004 - 8:17 p.m.

A very nice 3 day weekend�

We didn�t really do anything spectacular this weekend.

I already wrote about the cheese festival we attended Saturday here.

Yesterday (Sunday), we did all of our usual weekend errand running during the day. Since it was unusually hot (a high of 91� in early September qualifies as �unusually hot�), we waited until late in the afternoon to head down to B.A.C.E. Lake, and a little sunset fishing.

I went to the exact spot the Moose told me to fish. He had been catching nice bluegill for the last couple of weeks of an evening, just tossing a jig baited with a piece of a nightcrawlers.

We spent about an hour in his spot, and caught 1 small crappie. That�s it.

Why?

Probably because everyone who owns a boat larger than 18 feet long decided to spend one last weekend flying up and down the main channel of B.A.C.E. Lake, that�s why.

Since the hot spot was now cold, we decided to try the no-wake zone on the opposite side of this boat ramp.

Turned out to be a decent idea.

We didn�t catch anything to clean and eat. But we did manage to find several small schools of white crappie, feeding upon the schools of small gizzard shad. I think we probably caught around 40 fish in the last hour we spent on the lakefront.

Not a one was legal.

Did that take away from our enjoyment of the evening?

Not one bit�


Today?

Well�..

I managed to convince Lease into sleeping in until almost 10 am.

Felt great, I must say.

I picked a 5-gallon bucket totally full of ripe tomatoes yesterday. Today, my goal was to make SOMETHING out of them, and get them canned up and put away.

Since I already have canned up enough salsa to last the next 12 months, and made plenty of tomato juice last weekend, I was stumped with what to do with this harvest.

They are still residing in the 5-gallon bucket. I just couldn�t motivate myself into doing anything with these tomatoes. None of the usual things I make out of tomatoes can be done in less that 2+ hours. And I just couldn�t motivate myself into that much work.

Instead�

I made this:

Saturday morning, I went to the local farmer�s Market downtown. I picked up a dozen ears of late sweet corn (really good- had some for supper tonight), a peck of unripe peaches (should be ready to eat about Wednesday), and a very heavy (for it�s size) heirloom variety watermelon.

The flesh of this melon is very tasty. One problem, though- there were more seeds than pulp inside of the rind.

I �filleted� the fruit and ended up with enough seedless pulp for this week�s lunches. What I was left with was a soupy mix of seeds, pulp, and liquid.

After surfing the web for about 30 minutes, I finally found a decent canning recipe for watermelon jam.

So I made it.

What does it taste like (I am assuming you have never eaten it watermelon jam before)?

Great.

Especially if you enjoy watermelon�


What to do with the bucket full of tomatoes?

Let me think about it tomorrow. I�ll let you know what I do with them then�


I also watched the first 5 innings of the Cubs game. They demolished the Expos, winning 9-1.

Threw together a decent supper involving grilled hamburgers and fresh salad.

Used one Black Brandywine tomato for a garnish:

From the outside, this tomato really does look black. But once you cut it, you can see that this effect is caused by un-ripened green flesh at the surface of each fruit. They taste just like the pink Brandywine tomatoes, so it�s just a cosmetic difference�

While eating dinner, we watched a hilarious comedy hour using the �On Demand� feature of our digital cable (�Robert Schimmel� on HBO, from 1999)

And then?

I came upstairs to try to write only my second entry of the last 8 days.

One thing stopped me- the sunset taking place outside of my west-facing window.

Here- tell me if this wouldn�t have stopped you in your place, too:

No enhancements whatsoever. This is what the camera captured. All I did was resize the file.

Back to work tomorrow. Lease and I have to make it through 4 whole workdays, and then we are off for our yearly �non-working� vacation.

10 full calendar days away from our dreary jobs.

It can�t happen too soon, as far as we are concerned�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top