Today's music?

Secret Machines - "Now Here is Nowhere" (2004 - Reprise Records)...favorite new band this year-think Pink Floyd, with John Bon



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Sept. 24, 2004 - 10:26 p.m.

The return of my forgotten friend (old Fuji- I never thought I would see him again!)�plus- more vacation photos? Have I worn out that welcome yet?

Yes, I left my old digital (the Fuji 2600) in the closet of the motel room we spent the night in Nashville.

Stupid.

I know.

I always do a complete �go around one more time� whenever we check out of a motel. But somehow, I forgot to open the closet door this one time, and I left my camera behind.

We figured this out once we unloaded the Vibe in Carbondale. I noticed it missing as soon as everything was in the room.

I called the motel to tell them about my mistake. The desk clerk then called the maid on our floor, trying to ask her if she had seen the case. Since the desk clerk only spoke English and the maid only Spanish, they couldn�t communicate much at all.

The clerk told me to call back 3 hours later. At that time, the night shift clerk would be in (and the maid still there), and he spoke Spanish.

That left me with 3 hours of fishing (good) and anguish over my total stupidity (bad).

When I called back, I expected the worse.

Instead, they told me that it had been found. He didn�t say if it was found in the trunk of the maid�s car (he said at first, nobody had claimed finding it, but after a little bit more questioning, one had remembered seeing it earlier that day. Hum�..).

All I cared about was the �finding it� part.

�Now- how do I get it back?� I asked him.

Simple. The motel would use whatever carrier I chose (UPS), only charge me for the actual shipping costs (to the credit card I billed the room to), and it would be back in my hands soon.

Great! Seems other idiots like me leave stuff behind all the time. They just pack and ship the misplaced item, with no extra fees added.

Next time? Ramada.

Sounds like it would be a good ad slogan, eh?

So here are a few photos from that camera. Lease took them all, as this was the camera we carried in the front seat of the car as we traveled.

At least until we left Nashville


This photo was taken somewhere near the Illinois/Indiana border. The sun had partially risen, but there was such a heavy layer of (intermittent) fog, it couldn�t complete be seen.

Pretty cool effect, without any editing tricks�


A shop on the strip in Pigeon Forge:

Mecca, for both my truck and boat?

I think so.

Place cracked me up.

Here is another shot, taken of my Tennessee �cousins� and yours truly:

Got�s to get me some bib overalls, I�s thinkin��


One last �throw-away� shot:

I don�t know what this shrub (tree?) is, but it had already started changing colors. Taken on the Appalachian Trail, at about 4800 feet of elevation.


Only 1 � hours (or so) left of my 43rd birthday.

Time to call it a night.

On line, anyway ;)

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top