Today's music?

The Format - "Interventions and Lullabyes" (2003- Elektra Records)...good, all-American pop-rock



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Oct. 01, 2004 - 9:14 p.m.

It�s October 1st, so that must mean it�s time to�

Tear a page off of the freebie calendar above my desk.

Not a moment too soon, either- the sneering face of Fefe Dobson was really starting to creep me out�


It also meant that today we changed the guard. If you can call the rotating cast of bozos we have for temporary lead workers �guard�, that is.

Every month, the same thing happens- the old temps go back on the road, and do as little as possible for the next 30 days or so.

The new temps start their rule by complaining about what a mess everything is in the office, and then decide which of their coworkers they want to fuck with first.

Usually, it is whoever was in the office the previous month.

I have watched this pathetic show for the last 19 months. Some of the temp leads have changed (either because they were sick of the hassle and removed themselves from the list, or they were removed by upper management for something they had done), but the show is the same rerun each and every month.

A bunch of my coworkers took the afternoon off today to play golf. They called it �the unofficial state open�.

I don�t have any desire to take up this "sport". I listen to golfers complain about the aggravation they have, trying to get better at this frustrating game. It doesn�t sound like they have much fun at all.

Mark Twain said it best. Golf �is a good walk spoiled�.

And since most golfers nowadays ride in a cart, so they don�t even get the benefit of that walk�


Since I still have 10 hours of personal business time left, October 1st also meant it was a good time to burn a couple of those hours and go fishing at B.A.C.E. Lake.

It is still a little too warm for the fall/early winter pattern for White Bass to happen(about a month away, if past experience holds true), but I thought I would give them a try anyway.

Several things pointed towards good fishing: wind from the south, a cold front due to pass thought the area in the late afternoon hours with showers, and the fact we have had cold nights to cause the water to cool of, too.

So I gave it a shot.

As soon as I walked down to the water's edge (fishing at Findalay Bridge, my best fall White Bass spot), I knew things would be difficult. The wind was from the south all right, but was roaring at over 25 mph, with gust near 40 mph. Whitecaps on the surface, the first 5 feet of the shoreline stained by waves crashing on the shore.

I tried spinners. 1 fish in 50 casts. I also used my usual rig for fall Whites for about another 100 casts (two 1/16th ounce jigs tipped with chartreuse 2� twister tails), but this sank too quickly for the surface feeding fish (I could see them tearing up shad between the swells).

So�

I removed one of the heavier jigs and replaced it with one that only weighed 1/32nd of an ounce. A minor adjustment, but just what I needed to do to get the fish to strike.

In the next 2 � hours, I landed something around 50 whites of all sizes, along with 4 Largemouth bass and a handful of smaller Yellow bass.

Not bad.

I kept 9 nice Whites to clean, but could have kept at least 25. I don�t keep more than I can use (as you already should know).

I had to bring them home to clean, since there isn�t a fish cleaning station anywhere near this bridge. Yes, I did clean some fish there on a fallen tree last fall. That was so I could drop a few off at a coworker�s house on the way home.

Since he was in one of his many fields today, harvesting the last of his soybeans, I didn�t want to take the chance nobody would be at his house (which is on the highway on my way home).

I froze 12 filets for a fry sometime this winter. The other 6 (largest) filets are in a small Ziploc� in the �fridge. As soon as I post this entry, I am headed to one of my favorite recipe sites. I wanna look up recipes for Striped Bass, the saltwater cousins of these fish. I figure there might be something new I can do with these there for my Sunday dinner. Since they are kinda �gamy�, any recipe geared towards the bigger Stripers might work�.


Tomorrow?

We are going to another one of Lease�s coworker�s children�s wedding (that�s a lot of apostrophes, isn�t it?).

I barely know the coworker.

I don�t know either of the people getting married. Nor does Lease, but she doesn�t want the coworker upset because she invited us to go. I think if she had her druthers, we wouldn�t be going to this event anyway.

But we bought a gift off of the bridal registry (at Wallyworld! Which means a bargain-priced gift! Score!).

So we are going.

I guess that means another Saturday of dressing up (no denim jeans for me, in other words) ,a dinner of rubber chicken Cordon Bleu , and a cash bar.

The excitement is already killing me�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top