Today's music?

Prince - "Musicology" (2004 - Paisley Park/NPG Records)....He's back, and in rare form.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Oct. 10, 2004 - 11:07 p.m.

White bass (by the number)��..long entry (but since I haven�t posted much recently, you understand, right?)

(I�m late posting this part, but�)

I decided to keep an accurate count of what I caught yesterday. Whne the White Bass are hitting as fast as they have been recently, it�s hard to remember how many fish I actually land.

Unless I decide to keep a fish by fish count in my head.

The same head that managed to leave a camera in our hotel room a couple of weeks ago, so I might be off just a little bit.

That said�

The first 26 fish I landed were too small to keep. I started the day fishing the same spot I was slaying them on Thursday. The wind had shifted from the east (instead of the south), and the larger fish had gone away.

I moved towards the boat ramps, away from the main beach. Fishing in what I would call the transition area between the beach and clay shoreline, I managed to pick up a few more larger fish in the next 30 or so minutes. I had 3 fish in the bucket (nothing of any size, thought) and a total of 32 fish when I decided to move into the small cove adjacent to the beach.

That�s when the fun began�

Fish #43 was over a pound. Fishes number 46 and 47 were caught on a single cast (using a two jig rig).

I noticed several �swells� right on the surface. This meant that the more aggressive (and larger) fish were feeding on fast moving baitfish.

I switched to a Blue Fox Strobe deep water spinner, 3/32 of an ounce.

Fish #45 wasn�t a White bass. It was a 18� long, 3 pound (or so) Freshwater Drum Perch, what some people consider a rough fish. Not I. I will be eating it in just a few minutes, prepared Cajun-style (blackened in a supper hot skillet on the gas grill)

In the next 30 minutes, I tossed 12 large White bass (out of 20 fish landed). Some had to weigh 2+ pounds each. Many took patience just to bring into the shallow water, where I was able to grab them with my hands.

My hands are very raw right now. I have at least 4 open sores on my left hand (the landing hand), all caused by the sharp plate located in the gill plate of these fish. I also have numerous puncture wounds from hooks finding my flesh while being removed from the fish.

The action slowed to a crawl, so I left when I caught my last keeper fish.

That fish was #73.

In just a little over 2 hours of fishing.

I cleaned 19 fish yesterday. Add that to the 18 that made it to the cleaning station on Thursday.

And I haven�t even mentioned today�s fish yet�


(the following was written 3 hours after the above. Dinner, along with Sunday night HBO, intervened- oh yeah- and after my computer crashed and lost most of this entry before I started over))

Lease told me that yesterday, when she told her sisters (spending their Saturday making something out of paper mache for the Halloween wedding at Rubes house) that our 11 year old nephew (Gus) wanted to go fishing with me after hearing about all of the fish that I have been catching.

Lease didn�t say anything to him about whether we would be fishing today. She didn�t want to get his hopes up, so she didn�t.

All she had to do is let me know how much he wanted to go.

So�.

When we left this morning, I made sure I had an extra rod and reel.

Then�

We swung by Lease�s sister Angie�s house, hoping he was there.

He was.

So we took him with us, and made sure he had a chance to catch a few White Bass himself.

The only kind of fishing he has ever did (with his Dad) is bottom fishing.

That wasn�t how he was going to catch these surface-feeding fish.

So, once we reached the beech, I gave him a quick breakdown of what he needed to do to catch fish. I even told him a few of my secrets for catching White Bass when the folks around you aren�t catching any.

I can�t tell you those secrets here.

If I did, they wouldn�t be secrets, would they?

O.K., I�ll give you one:

This is the lure that has caught me over 200 fish in the past 4 days. I wrote about it above.

Here is Gus with one of his fish:

Not a fish I would usually keep, but since he caught it�


This was one of the bigger fish I landed today. Might have weighed a pound or so. I cleaned 10 or so fish yesterday that easily weighed 1 � pounds or more. So today was not as good a day as yesterday (let alone Thursday).

Why does this fish appear orange?

My shirt was orange. See?


So?

That�s about it for now.

Oh yeah- Jib Jab is at it again.

The folks who made the great (piss everyone off) short animated video done to the song �This Land is Your Land�?

Here is the new one:

Click here, to see it.

Not as funny as the original, but still��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top