Today's music?

Rick Springfield - "KArma" (1999 - Platinum Entertainment) Stop laughing, damn it! This is a really decent cd (for coming from



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005 - 9:06 p.m.

He�s gone- but I imagine not for long�plus- are my eyes bigger than my back yard? Probably so�

So.

As I headed out the front door this morning (to scrape the snow off of Lease�s windshield and start my truck), I was amazed to see�

Five police cars sitting directly in front of my house.

Now mind you- I am not at my best at 6:15 in the morning. The sun hadn�t rose at this time, and my eyes were barely clear of sleep before I hit the concrete of the front porch.

My first thought was- Was there something I might have done to attract this attention?

Of course not. Unless they were there due to file downloading from 2001, I don�t think I have done anything to deserve this level of attention from the authorities in many years.

I headed to Lease�s Vibe, and started scrapping the ice from the front windshield. All the time, I was trying to catch a glimpse at what was happening in the road , less then 25 feet away.

The breakdown of the cars was simple- 4 marked squad cars, one undercover sedan.

Wait a minute- who would require this amount of firepower?

My old pal, the Drug Dealing Neighbor, of course! Why didn�t this come to me quicker, I wondered?

About this time, what was once known as a �paddy wagon� (now a transport vehicle) pulled up to the unmarked sedan. In a matter of only a second or two, they pulled a small, light skinned African American from the backseat of said sedan and deposited him in the back of the van.

As this was happening, D.D. Neighbor�s wife and oldest son came out of the house. That�s when I noticed that their $50,000 Cadillac STK was running in their driveway.

Just as it has been the past several days.

Considering the fact that in the past he rarely was awake at the time I left for work, this had caught my attention earlier this week. That, and the fact that many new vehicles seemed to be parked on the street when I came home from work every day at 3:30 pm, along with what seemed to be various men in loud arguments coming from his house all week.

Hum�

Think he knew what was about to happen?

Anyway�

I am not 100% sure that the man quickly tossed into the paddy wagon was my neighbor. More like 99.7%.

If it was, I expect him to be walking the streets sometime tomorrow. He must think he is bulletproof by now. Run over two people with your Escalade, only spend 16 months of a 8 year �involuntary manslaughter� conviction, go home and continue your drug empire? Why would he think the cops would be after him again anyway?


By the time I came back inside, the police cars were on their way to the station. I was only able to capture only one frame on my Minolta digital:

Like I said- it was almost dark still outside. And yes- our odd neighbor accross the street is still flashing her Christmas lights, 24 hours a day, even though it is almost 2 months after Christ's birthday.

(Note my Hillbilly truck on the right side of this photograph. Luckily for me, that wasn't the "vehicle fashion police" outside this morning)

I took a whole series of photos like this (on purpose) back in my junior year of high school, way back in the mid 1970�s.

This one is far blurrier. Didn�t have time to set up the tripod, don�t you know?


Last night, I purchased (online) 2 peach and 2 plum trees from Stark Brothers trees. Actually, one is a Pluot, a cross between a plum (75%) and a apricot (25%).

I also ordered 3 Aronia (AKA Black Chokeberry) shrubs from Raintree Nursery in Oregon. (links added for this and the Pluot above, in case you want to see what I am talking about)

I know what you are thinking- where am I planning on planting them, right?

Right now, I am only sure on the Aronia shrubs. They will go in the area that will soon be vacated by a (weed) wild cherry tree cluster growing on the eastern border of Casa Roadiepig. We kept this thing when we cut the Hackberry tree down a couple of years ago, but it grew into a contorted form for so many years beneath the larger tree. It looks like Hell (I plan on taking �before and after� pictures tomorrow, so you can see). After encountering my chainsaw in the morning, it will be nothing but a bad memory.

I will need to amend the soil there before the Aronia plants arrive, but that is do-able.

The fruit trees?

I�m not sure where they will end up, as I type this entry.

They were all on sale at killer prices (less than $50, shipping included, for all 4 trees). I have wanted to add plums to my collection for some time.

As far as the peaches go? My trees out back are now 8 years old. The lifespan of 12-15 years of productive years from these fragile pit fruits is considered very good. So it�s time to think about where I will be in another 3-4 years.

My first choice is planting these trees at the property owned by Sef (from work). His stepson (and our coworker) Antonio also lives on this acreage, so I would have two people to keep an eye on the trees from me (an important thing, considering they live about halfway between my house and the B.A.C.E. Lake, 40 miles away)

Their property is also 100% tree rat free. Can�t underscore the importance of this, when peaches are in the mix.

If they decide they don�t want the hassle (I think they will- Antonio asked me for ideas about growing peach trees last summer), there is always the storage. But considering I might be out of there sooner than I want to be (Little Bigman might lay us all off, as fucked up as he is), and retirement is only 7-8 years away for me anyway (which would be about the time the trees hit their prime), that wouldn't be the best option.

Then there�s always brother in law Sam and Lease�s sister Rube�s property. Tons of tree rats live there, though. Probably end up just feeding them if they did produce fruit.

ABSOLUTELY NO ROOM here at Casa Roadiepig. Unless I want to pull the last of my lawn up (not a good idea, with three dogs).

Doesn�t matter where they go. Just the possibility of having new fresh fruit to eat, process, and enjoy makes the risk worth it�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top