Today's music?

nothing...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, May. 01, 2005 - 8:12 p.m.

Too much stimuli�

Let me start this off by saying- today was Sunday. Sunday is (unless snow is falling) the best day of the week for yours truly. No schedule (usually). No rush to do anything.

A day to relax and unwind from the daily routine.

That said�

Tonight will be the second consecutive �frost warning� night here in Mohall.

That makes it the 3rd frost warning since the �average day of last frost� for us in the past 2 weeks.

The forecasted low for the next 2 nights is also below the �frost threshold�. That means two more nights of trepidation, expecting the worst for my (fruit trees, tomatoes already in the ground, tender perennials, etc) garden.

It�s almost enough to make me give up the yearly grind of growing plants.

Almost�

I hauled my flats of tender annuals outside again this morning (9 full plastic container, known as �flats�, in case you wondered about the term). They all came inside again late this afternoon. Many of the tender plants have signs of wind and/or sun damage (typical). This happens to me almost every year.

But considering the fact that next week is typically the time to plant tomatoes and peppers here in Mohall? This is starting to wear on me. I try to plan things where the plants are primed and ready to plant right on time.

Instead, the weather has been total shit for the past 10 day (15 degrees below what is normal, on the average, every day in that time frame).

So�

There are 9 �flats� full of plants, ready to be put into the ground. Only problem is, the ground (and the low temperatures) aren�t cooperating.

Maybe I should just go to the farmer�s market and buy someone else's produce instead of going through this hassle every spring?

Sometimes I wonder�


Lease�s sister Jules brought her grandson by yesterday. I was in the act of cleaning fish about the time they arrived .Lease and I had managed to catch 40 or so White Bass in the river that feeds B.A.C.E. Lake yesterday. We kept 18, with the expectation that our Bro-in-law t-bone would be cleaning these fish (he told me last fall that any extra White Bass I caught should be brought to him, and he would gladly clean them. Except he wasn�t home when we brought them by yesterday, which meant I had to clean them, which is why we are to this point in the entry�).

Instead, I put the filet knife to these larger-than-usual fish. I kept the largest 5 fish worth of filets (Codeman and I ate them for dinner tonight), and I froze the remaining flesh for Angie and T-bone (which they picked up tonight).
So�

Here are two photographs, showing what I just rambled on about here in this �journal".

Photo #1- the mess of fish:

Yes, the photograph is in black and white. Since the fish are basically in those tones, I just made the whole shot that way.

Editorial content, I guess.

Photo #2:

Grandnephew Kaden. Without a tear in his eye.

As much as the presence of me (anytime) seems to make him cry, I am happy with this shot.

And yes, I did �paint� this one using Photoshop�.

If you saw the full-sized photograph, you could really tell I did this. At this size, it is harder to tell.

I have the �Dummies� book (won on Ebay a couple of weeks ago) for the Photoshop Elements� program now, but haven�t had any time to read into it just yet.

If I have any major editing �breakthroughs� in the coming days, I will let you know�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top