Today's music?

Secret Machines - "September 000" (2002 Ace Fu records) I didn't know I had this cd (been trying to buy a hard-to-find co



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, May. 11, 2005 - 8:32 p.m.

I think I�m about done�

Planting my garden(s) that is.

I have spent just about every minute of my free time over the past 5 days stuffing my bedding plants into the soil. My tomatoes never really bounced back from the damage they received in the wind while hardening off in their plastic �flats� two Sundays ago. Even so, I went ahead and salvaged the best looking seedlings and put them into both gardens on Sunday and Monday.

They are beginning to look a lot better now. I will loose a few of the weakest ones, but I over planted to take that into account. The new growth on most of these plants is very dark green (as opposed to the yellowish cast they had taken on in the flats). The very warm weather over the past few days has to have a lot to do with that positive development.

On Tuesday, I drove to work early to plant my eggplants and tomatoes. So far, none have been devoured by the multitudes of rabbits living in the storage yard. This morning, it was time for peppers.

I still had a few plants left over, so I did what I could to help the few gardeners at work start their gardening for the year. I even drove to Mr. Snow�s farm and MOM�s house after work this evening to deliver their portion of me extras. I would have liked to have more to give them (especially Mr. Snow, considering all of the asparagus and peaches he has given me from his garden over the years), but there just wasn�t enough healthy plants to go around.

This was the hardest seed-starting year I have had since I started (seriously) gardening 20+ years ago. Hopefully, with the seed starting heat mat I bought (late) this year, things will go better in the future�


One more gardening complication this spring:

We have had about 1/4th our usual amount of rainfall since late February. This, after the worst flooding in 50 years back in January.

The lack of moisture has left farmer�s fields bone dry, neighborhood lawns as brown as late August, and the water levels at the local lakes at record lows for this time of the year.

I have had to drag garden hoses out at least 5 times at work (I learned my lesson last spring, when the dry weather early on killed a bunch of my onion plants). Since my soil here at home tends to hold moisture, the only times I have watered here was this week while planting the seedlings.

The dry weather appears to breaking, though. The National Weather Service has issued a flash flood warning for southern Mohall county. It has been raining heavily down there all evening.

So far, we haven�t had much more than a drop or two in the neighborhood. Unless all of the radar reflections to the west break up, we will get some rain before the night is over.

The bad news about all this rain?

Tomorrow afternoon, I am headed down to B.A.C.E. Lake for a little crappie fishing with Deac (my former co-worker, now retired). He rarely goes fishing, but he seems to find time to get me to go with him in his boat at least once or twice a year. I don�t mind helping him catch his limit, and it�s nice to be able to pass on some of my (limited) knowledge to him.

The only problem is- the heaviest rainfall tonight has been over B.A.C.E. Lake. It has been orange and red on the Doppler for at least the last 4 hours.

That ought to screw the fishing up for the near future. My hope is that it won�t raise the water too quickly, mudding the waters, until after we get done fishing tomorrow�


In between all of the garden work, Lease and I have:

1. Gone fishing at said lake, catching virtually nothing (several small bluegills and drum perch in several hours of fishing at multiple locations) on Saturday. The lake�s level is now even lower than when I shot the photos back in April.

2. Had a Mother�s Day cookout at Rubes. Ate far too much good food, and then came home and spent the next hour or so bent over, sticking plants into the soil.

My back has been aching for the past few days. I wonder why?

3. Had another cookout last night, this one a combination �going away� party for nephew J-Rod (due to report in Florida by midnight tonight, too soon to be in the hellhole known as Iraq), and an early first birthday party for his son, KADEN (since he won�t be here later in the month on his actual birthday).

My favorite part of any child�s 1st birthday party is when the child gets to �eat� his cake.

Really, it is more like destroy their cake, getting a bite or two into their mouths in the process:

See what I mean?

Here is the end result to his (one-time cute) Elmo cake:

Don�t worry- Jules had another (much bigger) cake made for everyone else to eat�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top