Today's music?

Garbage - "Bleed Like Me" (2005 - Giffen Records).. nice comeback by a mid-90's favorite of ours...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, May. 25, 2005 - 8:33 p.m.

A good afternoon of fishing�

Finally went on my delayed fishing trip with Deac this afternoon. We were supposed to go a couple of weeks ago, but the weather didn�t cooperate.

The weather was fine today. Light variable breezes, mostly sunny skies, and a high temperature of 75�.

A perfect day for crappie fishing.

I wasn�t expecting much- almost all of the reports I have heard recently said that the fish still weren�t in �spawning� mode. Moose had heard of a couple of limits (10 fish) being caught, but he himself hadn�t caught that many keepers in his attempts.

I met Deac at his house at noon, and we were on the lake by 12:30. We put in at Wilber Creek, and headed over to the one spot I had caught a limit in the past few years (also with Deac), the railroad bridge. The dominant wind was out of the Northeast (terrible for fishing), but that put it hitting the rocks in the corner we were anchored.

Why were we anchored? Because something shorted out on Deac�s trolling motor almost the minute we tried using it, causing the plastic around the electrical plug to melt and smolder.

So- no trolling motor.

It wouldn�t be a fishing trip with Deac if something odd, mechanically, didn�t happen. In our past 4 attempts (spanning 5 years), we have had the following happen:

1.Drove to the lake, found out his battery had a dead cell. Couldn�t start the boat, so we fished the rocks at Wilber Creek ramps. Caught several nice crappies, so not a total loss.

2. While fishing with Dale and Deac (in Dale�s boat), batteries died about 3 miles from the ramps. Had to be towed in by a very nice boater who saw we were stranded. Later found out this man was the Vet my sister (and later Codeman) worked for at the animal clinic.

3. Caught 18 keeper crappies (at least 100 altogether), some pushing 12�, in a little over an hour at the railroad bridge. Switched over to smaller jigs, caught another 50 pre-spawn bluegills. Spent about an hour cleaning fish at the ramps. No mechanical problems this trip.

4. Today (melted electrical connection, no trolling motor).

Had fun every time. That�s all that matters�


So� how was the fishing today?

Pretty damn good.

We only boated 7 keeper crappie, but was caught at least 100 more. Many were just under legal or right on the 10� line on the ruler, but not worth taking the chance of keeping. Don�t want to have my tackle confiscated for a few fish filets.

We also caught a bunch of Yellow Bass (one of my favorite fish to eat, if they are big enough to keep- 3 were), 2 large White Bass, a nice Largemouth Bass (keeper, but released- I rarely keep these fish), and a good number of large-enough-to-eat-a-large-jig-or-minnow Bluegills (I cleaned 7 of the biggest).

All this, in about 5 hours on the lake.

Deac used minnows, and I alternated between tinsel and twister tail jigs. The chartreuse tinsel jigs, in 1/16th of an ounce with a 2� tail brought the most fish to my line.

Lost about 10 of those jigs in the rocks, too.

Better get to tying a few more tomorrow, in case Lease and I go fishing this weekend�


I am still working on the photos from both of KADEN�s birthday parties. Between the two, I shot over 200 photos.

Crazy, I know.

Only the ones I consider decent will end up on the cd-roms I give to both families. That should narrow the total down to less than 50.

If you know me, you know I like candid shots the best. I found this one while going over the photos from 1st party at Jule�s house:

One last shot from the 2nd party on Sunday. This one has been edited with the Photoshop �dry brush� filter added for effect:

Seems like he�s pretty mad at his cake, doesn�t he?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top