Today's music?

Let Go - "Let Go" (2005 - The Militia Group) ...Somewhat 70's-sounding, good rock album...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Dec. 23, 2005 - 7:39 p.m.

Another sleepless night�plus- a photo of a very special poinsettia�

That�s right- I was jarred awake by the sound of a ringing phone again this morning.

Frost patrol? How?

I said as much to Mohall 1 when I answered the phone. Maybe with a few expletives tossed in.

He said London had called, and frost was forecasted.

Strange- I had just taken Sproutman out for his nightly urination (2:30 am), and the air was warm, with a strong wind to boot.

How could it frost if the air temperature was around 38�? Plus, the wind was blowing?

Well�it can�t.

But, if the headquarters calls and said frost was coming, that means we have to go to work.

At 3:30 am.

Another ridiculously long day, in other words.

Yes, I treated all of the bridge decks on my route.

Dumb?

Maybe�

But if I didn�t and someone had an accident?

My ass.

So I set my auger at 200 pounds a mile (a very low rate), and treated away.

I guess I shouldn�t complain- the last couple of mornings overtime will look nice when the Christmas shopping bills (i.e.: Visa bill) come in next month�


How warm was it this morning?

One of the guys RODE HIS MOTORCYCLE TO WORK AT 3:30 AM!

He said he took the first couple of curves slow, but since he had also checked his thermometer before he left home (his read 37�), so he took a chance.

That, folks , is a first- called in to treat the pavements, but warm enough to ride a cycle.

Weird days, indeed�


The photo below is of a very unusual poinsettia:

A rare one that decided to bloom a second year.

Not as showy as the ones you can buy at the local garden center- not this year, anyway.

But ask any garden center how to get one of these Mexican plants to bloom a second time and they will tell you it isn't worth the effort.

You have to control the amount of daylight they get (12 hours each day) starting in October. They tell you to put it into a closet, cover it with a plastic bag- anything to control its exposure to light.

Or...

You can do what I did.

Put it on a table next to a window in your break room. Ignore it, except to water it when you remember (I forgot a few times over the year).

And check it in late November. Notice that a few bracts (the colored leaves that give the plant its red color) have changed color.

Put it on the break room table for the month of December. Listen to smart-assed comments about "the pretty flower you grew" from your coworkers, knowing that they really like the added color, but don't want to admit it.


Time to throw the pizza (homemade) into the over.

Later�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top