Today's music?

Gnarles Barkley - "St. Elsewhere" (2006 - Downtowwn/Atlantic Records) hard to describe- similar to The Gorillaz maybe? Good,



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Aug. 07, 2006 - 9:05 p.m.

Back to the "way too much" canning here at Casa Roadiepig....

This was Thursday's output. The photo shows the 22 pints of medium salsa, 9 pints and 1 quart (unsealed) of pickled sweet beets, 7 pints of peach sauce ( think applesauce, only with peaches. Or peach puree, as in baby food, only much better), and 15 half-pints of peach jam:

I burned a half day vacation to get through all of this produce, and I still wasn't done when Lease came home from work that evening.

Yesterday, we were at it again. I finished up the peaches from our front tree (13 half pints of spiced peach jam, plus 6 more pints of peach sauce), 22 pints of (very) mild tomato salsa, 7 pints of dill pickled okra, and 3 pints of mixed peppers (from the jalapeno and banana peppers that my retired coworker Bugs left at my back gate of Friday). Sunday's work actually didn't take as long as I feared it would- right around three hours, start to finish.

No photo of Sunday's work- I had them labeled and up in the pantry before I remembered to take a shot.

I should be done canning until the next 5 gallon bucket full of tomatoes become ripe later this week.

I'm ready for a break....


The war with the tree rats is officially over for the year. They ended up destroying about � of the fruit from the front tree, to go along with the almost complete waste of the back tree�s crop.

To top it off, about 1 out of every 4 peaches that I was able to harvest had been infected with codling moth larvae, making the prep work a little more tedious. The fruit that contained one of these tiny (smaller than a grain of rice) worms had a portion of the fruit ruined, making cutting away the bad area a necessity.

So the question remains- are these peaches worth all of the warfare and work they required to get any sort of harvest at all.

If they didn�t taste so good, I wouldn�t think twice about cutting down the tree and enlarging my vegetable beds. The local farmer�s market always has orchard owners, selling their ripe (bug and tree rat-free) peaches for most of July and August. At $20 a bushel for #2 fruit, the price is right, too.

I don�t like to deal with the squirrels every summer. No, I don�t think they are cute and cuddly. I just hate to have to fight them, whether if that means with the live trap or by speeding up their lifespan via another method.

I�m going to think long and hard about this issue this fall. I think I might have finally had enough of this war over the peaches�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top