Today's music?

Queens of the Stone Age - "Era Vulgaris" (2007) Good stuff....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Jun. 19, 2007 - 9:20 p.m.

A nice surprise among the disappointments this spring...


This has been a year of gardening failures.

The late freeze killed off all of the tree fruit crops here. Not just my trees- all of the commercial growers are claiming a complete loss of crop this year. That includes peaches, nectarines, apricots, pears, and even apples .

What a bummer!

The dry spring into summer has ruined the berry crops. No strawberries due to the freeze, no wild black raspberries (and most likely) blackberries due to the extreme dry conditions (fingers crossed on my red raspberry and gooseberry plants- watering them might have saved them).

The heavy snow in February even destroyed my garden annex crop of garlic. That was my main crop. The slow melting of the 6 foot deep drifts caused my entire annex crop to rot in the ground.

I only plant a few garlic cloves in the home garden. Last fall, it was to keep three of my hard-to-find garlic varieties growing for next years crop.

As luck would have it....

These plants survived the crazy weather just fine.

Tonight, I harvested the China Rose early garlic. I couldn't even buy starts for this variety last fall- crop failure my main source said. Nobody else had any available when I decided to order a few.

But these survived.

I plan on saving 1/2 of this small harvest for next fall's planting.

The other half?

This extremely hot and spicy garlic will be stretched as far s possible in my salsa and pasta sauce making this summer. I don't want to have to buy store-bought garlic until I absolutely have to.

I still have the Elephant garlic from our Carbondale vacation, and a Russian variety in the ground. They are both growing nicely.

Maybe I'll have enough for the canning after all....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top